Folk Alley Radio Show #240404

This week on Folk Alley, music for the Great North American Solar Eclipse with songs from Richie Havens, Cat Stevens, Greg Brown, Laura Veirs, and Lyle Lovett; new music from Jim Lauderdale, Richard Thompson, and Valerie June from the ‘My Black Country: The Songs of Alice Randall’ compilation; favorites from Patty Griffin and Samantha Crain; and an interview excerpt with Aoife O’Donovan and Dawn Landes from the most recent Basic Folk podcast.

In Hour Two, it’s more new music from Kacey Musgraves, The Secret Sisters, David Myles, Leyla McCalla, Taj Mahal, Jacob Sharp, and Rebecca Frazier; plus favorites from Mark Erelli, Slaid Cleaves, May Erlewine, Watchhouse, Billy Strings, and much more.


Hour One

Richie Havens – Here Comes the Sun – Best Of – Rhino

Cat Stevens – Moonshadow – Teaser And The Firecat – A&M

Greg Brown – Rooty Toot Toot For the Moon – One More Goodnight Kiss – Red House

Laura Veirs – Sun Song – Warp and Weft – Raven Marching Band

Lyle Lovett – Sun and Moon and Stars – Natural Forces – Curb

Aoife O’Donovan and Dawn Landes – Basic Folk Interview excerpt Cindy Howes with Aoife O’Donovan and Dawn Landes – Basic Folk interview clip

Dawn Landes – Which Side are You On (1931) (feat. Kanene Pipkin) – The Liberated Woman’s Songbook – Funmachine

Aoife O’Donovan – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll – All My Friends – Yep Roc

Valerie June (comp) – Big Dream – My Black Country: The Songs of Alice Randall – Oh Boy

Samantha Crain – Somewhere All the Time – Kid Face – Ramseur Records

Jim Lauderdale – You’ve Got A Shine – [single] – Sky Crunch Records

Patty Griffin – Shine A Different Way – Servant of Love – PGM/Thirty Tigers

Richard Thompson – Singapore Sadie – Ship To Shore – New West Records

Fairport Convention – Genesis Hall – Unhalfbricking – Hannibal

Hour Two

Kacey Musgraves – The Architect – Deeper Well – UMG Recordings

Mark Erelli – Sense of Wonder – Lay Your Darkness Down – Mark Erelli/Soundly Music

The Secret Sisters – Paperweight – Mind, Man, Medicine – New West Records

Raul Malo – Liberty City – Say Less – Mono Mundo Recordings

Slaid Cleaves – Second Hand – Together Through the Dark – Candy House Media

David Myles – Still Missing You (feat. May Erlewine) – Devil Talking – Little Tiny Records

May Erlewine – Never One Thing – Mother Lion – Earthwork Music

Leyla McCalla – Scaled to Survive – Sun Without the Heat – Anti

Taj Mahal – Queen Bee (live) – Swingin’ – Live at the Church in Tulsa – Lightning Rod Records

Jacob Sharp – Time (feat. The Bowerbirds) – [single] – Jacob Sharp

Watchhouse (Mandolin Orange) – Turtle Dove & The Crow – This Side of Jordan – Yep Roc

Rebecca Frazier – Make Hay While the Moon Shines – [single] – Amtoco/Compass Records

Béla Fleck, Zakir Hussain & Edgar Meyer – Owl’s Misfortune (feat. Rakesh Chaurasia) – As We Speak – Bela Fleck Productions

Billy Strings – Long Journey Home – Me/And/Dad – Rounder Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By