Folk Alley Radio Show #230413

This week on Folk Alley, it’s all about new spring releases. Hear the latest from Nefesh Mountain, Alison Brown with Steve Martin, The Milk Carton Kids, The Hackles, and Peter One with Allison Russell. Plus, favorites from Gillian Welch, Willie Watson, Rayna Gellert, Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters, Frances Luke Accord, and a classic from Nick Drake too.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Low Lily, Zoe & Cloyd, Jake Ybarra, Robbie Fulks, Josienne Clarke, Trapper Shoepp, and Rodney Crowell; favorites from Caleb Klauder & Reeb Willms, Samantha Crain, and Peter Mulvey & SistaStrings, plus a classic from Old and In the Way and more.



Hour One:

Nefesh Mountain – Revival – Revival: The East Nashville Sessions – Eden Sky Records

Alison Brown – Foggy Morning Breaking (feat. Steve Martin) – On Banjo – Compass Records

Sturgill Simpson – A Little Light – Cuttin’ Grass, Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain

Gillian Welch – April the 14th Part One – Time (The Revelator) – Acony

Willie Watson – On the Road Again – Folksinger Vol. 2 – Acony

The Milk Carton Kids – Star Shine – I Only See the Moon – Far Cry Records

Rayna Gellert – The Stars – Old Light: Songs from My Childhood & Other Gone Worlds – StorySound Records

Nick Drake – Hanging On A Star – Made to Love Magic – Island

The Hackles – Damn the Word – What a Beautiful Thing I Have Made – Jealous Butcher Records

Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters – The Sound of Bells – Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters – Home Perm Music

Peter One – Birds Go Die Out of Sight (Don’t Go Home) (feat Allison Russell) – Come Back to Me – Verve Forecast

Béla Fleck & Toumani Diabaté – Nashville – The Ripple Effect – Craft Recordings

Bonnie Raitt – Hear Me Lord – Silver Lining – Capitol

Frances Luke Accord – All the Things – Safe In Sound – Two-Dale Records/Tone Tree Music

Langhorne Slim – Mighty Soul – Strawberry Mansion – Dualtone Music Group

Hour Two:

Low Lily – Where We Belong – Angels in the Wreckage – Low Lily

Zoe & Cloyd – Up and At ‘Em – Songs of Our Grandfathers – Organic Records

Caleb Klauder & Reeb Willms – New Shoes – Innocent Road – West Sound Music

Jake Ybarra – A Whole Lot To Remember – Something In the Water – Jake Ybarra

Samantha Crain – Outside the Pale – Under Branch & Thorn & Tree – Ramseur Records

Robbie Fulks – Longhair Bluegrass – Bluegrass Vacation – Compass Records

Old and in the Way – Midnight Moonlight – Old and In the Way – Ryko

Carolyn Kendrick – Walker Clay – [single] – Carolyn Kendrick

Josienne Clarke – Words Were Never The Answer – Onliness (songs of solitude and singularity) – Corduroy Punk Records

Trapper Schoepp – Secrets of the Breeze – Siren Songs – Grand Phony

Peter Mulvey & SistaStrings – Shenandoah – Love Is the Only Thing – Righteous Babe Records

Rodney Crowell – Everything At Once (feat Jeff Tweedy) – The Chicago Sessions – New West

Jeff Tweedy – Laminated Cat – Together At Last – Anti/Epitaph


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By