Folk Alley Radio Show #201119

This week of Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Langhorne Slim, Nova Scotian funeral director-turned songwriter, Terra Spencer, Irish-American Danny Burns, Amanda Shires w/ Jason Isbell, Adam Hurt, Max Gomez, and Sturgill Simpson; plus favorites from The Highwomen, Della Mae, The Infamous Stringdusters, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Dave Alvin, The Steel Wheels, Justin Moses w/ Sierra Hull, and Kelsey Waldon; favorites from Emma Swift, Taj Mahal, Cassandra Wilson, Billy Strings, John Prine, and more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Langhorne Slim – Mighty Soul – Strawberry Mansion – Dualtone Music Group

The Highwomen – Crowded Table – The Highwomen – Low Country Sound/Elektra Records

Dan Zanes & Friends – Welcome Table (feat. Blind Boys of Alabama) – Catch That Train – Festival Five

Terra Spencer – Training To Fly – Chasing Rabbits – Terra Spencer

Dave Gunning – All That’s Yet To Come – Up Against the Sky – Wee House of Music

Danny Burns – Many Moons Ago (feat. Sarah Jarosz) – [single] – Bonfire Recording Company

Sarah Jarosz – Mile On the Moon – Build Me Up From Bones – Sugar Hill

Amanda Shires – The Problem (feat. Jason Isbell) – [single] – Silver Knife Records/Thirty Tigers

The Brother Brothers – Frankie – Some People I Know – Compass Records

Della Mae – It’s About Time (feat. The McCrary Sisters) – Headlight – Rounder Records

Max Gomez – He Was a Friend of Mine – [single] – Marveltone

Adam Hurt – Lily of the Valley/Rocking In the Weary Land – Back to the Earth – Ubiquitone

The Infamous Stringdusters – Let It Go – Let It Go – High Country Recordings/Thirty Tigers

Mipso – Just Want To Be Loved – Mipso – Rounder

Sturgill Simpson – A Little Light – Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain (Thirty Tigers)

Hour Two:

Dave Alvin – Highway 61 Revisited – From an Old Guitar: Rare and Unreleased Recordings – Yep Roc Records

Emma Swift – I Contain Multitudes – Blonde on the Tracks – Tiny Ghost Records

Billy Strings – Long Forgotten Dream – Home – Rounder

Kristen Grainger & True North – Wishes & Dreams – Ghost Tattoo – Kristen Grainger & True North

Taj Mahal – Frankie & Albert – The Essential – Columbia

Cassandra Wilson – Come On In My Kitchen – Blue Light ‘Til Dawn – Blue Note

The Steel Wheels – The Healer – Everyone A Song, Vol. 1 – Big Ring Records

Robin & Linda Williams – Annie – Deeper Waters – Red House

Molly Tuttle – Million Miles – When You’re Ready – Compass Records

Justin Moses – Taxland (feat. Sierra Hull) – Fall Like Rain – Mountain Fever Records

Ray Bonneville – Wild Thing For You – Rough Luck – Stonefly

Kelsey Waldon – Sam Stone – They’ll Never Keep Us Down – Oh Boy Records

John Prine – I Remember Everything – [single] – Oh Boy / Thirty Tigers


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By