Folk Alley Radio Show #240530

This week on Folk Alley, song to celebrate the beginning of June by The Decemberists, The Fretless, and The Milk Carton Kids; new music from Kim Richey, Mark Erelli, Old Man Luedecke, and Kaia Kater; an advance single from Melissa Carper’s forthcoming album, ‘Borned In Ya’; plus, favorites from Eliza Gilkyson, Jimmy LaFave, William Price, and Eric Bibb.

In Hour Two, it’s more new music from Niamh Regan, Tim Easton, and Yann Falquet; advance singles from Talia Rose and Linda Thompson’s upcoming summer releases; a set for fishing season with songs from John Prine, Leo Kottke, and Fran and Flora; plus faves from David Francey, Over the Rhine, Dori Freeman, and more.

Folk Alley is able to produce and offer this weekly radio show to over 70 public and community radio stations around the U.S. for FREE thanks to support from our members. If you enjoy this show please donate to Folk Alley or consider becoming a sponsor.


Hour One

The Decemberists – June Hymn – The King Is Dead – Capitol

The Fretless – June Tune – The Fretless – The Fretless

The Milk Carton Kids – The Jewel of June – The Ash & Clay – Anti-

Kim Richey – Joy Rider – Every New Beginning – Yep Roc

Eliza Gilkyson – Easy Rider – Lost and Found – Red House

Mark Erelli – Northern Star (String Quintet Version) – Mark Erelli – Signature Sounds

Jimmy Lafave – Shining On Through – Blue Nightfall – Red House Records

Eric Bibb – Shine On – Diamond Days – Telarc

Old Man Luedecke – My Status is the Baddest (feat. Bahamas) – She Told Me Where to Go – Outside Music

Bahamas – Half Your Love (feat. The Secret Sisters) – Live To Tape, Vol. 1 [EP] – Brush Fire/Republic

Melissa Carper – Lucky Five – Borned In Ya – Mae Music/Thirty Tigers

Frank Vignola Quintet – Spaz in the City – Kong Man – VMD

Darrin Bradbury – Nothing Much – Talking Dogs & Atom Bombs – Epitaph/ANTI

Kaia Kater – History in Motion – Strange Medicine – Free Dirt Records

William Prince – Pasadena – Stand In the Joy – Six Shooter Records

Hour Two

John Prine – Fish and Whistle – Great Days: The John Prine Anthology – Rhino Records

Leo Kottke – The Fisherman – 6 and 12 String Guitar – Takoma

Fran and Flora – Fishelekh Gefinen (To Catch A Fish) – Precious Collection – Hidden Notes Records

Niamh Regan – Belly – Come As You Are – Faction Records

The Swell Season – Low Rising – Strict Joy – ANTI-

Tim Easton – Jacqueline – Find Your Way – Black Mesa

John Hiatt – Marlene – Terms of My Surrender – New West

Talia Rose – Columbus, Ohio – Carry it Closely – Talia Rose

David Francey – Ashtabula – The Waking Hour – REDHOUSE

Over The Rhine – Ohio – Ohio – Backporch

Genticorum – La Bateliere (The Boatman) – Au coeur de l’aube (The Heart of Dawn) – Genticorum

Yann Falquet – Sutherland’s March – Les Secrets du Ciel – Yann Falquet

Pete Sutherland – Where Shall I Fly? – The Cream of Vermont – CDFreedom

Linda Thompson – Darling This Will Never Do (feat. Rufus Wainwright) – Proxy Music – StorySound Records

Dori Freeman (feat. Teddy Thompson) – 2 Step – Every Single Star – Blue Hens Music


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By