Folk Alley Radio Show #240502

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new spring releases with the latest music from Jacob Jolliff, Dawn Landes, Anya Hinkle, Iron & Wine, New Dangerfield, and Chris Smither; classics from Peggy Seeger and Greg Brown with Bill Morrissey; plus, favorites from Dervish, Jeffrey Foucault, Watchhouse, Della Mae, and more.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Kyshona, Eric Bibb, Barnstar!, Bronwyn Keith-Hynes, Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, and a 2’fer set from the new Mountain Stage 40th Anniversary live compilation. Plus, hear an excerpt from the most recent Basic Folk podcast featuring Leyla McCalla, and more.

Folk Alley is able to produce and offer this weekly radio show to over 70 public and community radio stations around the U.S. for FREE thanks to support from our members. If you enjoy this show please donate to Folk Alley or consider becoming a sponsor.


Hour One

Dervish – The May Morning Dew (feat. Rhiannon Giddens) – The Great Irish Songbook – Rounder Records

Jacob Jolliff – Vera – Instrumentals, Vol. 2: Mandolin Mysteries – Adhyâropa Records

Joy Kills Sorrow – Jake – Wide Awake (EP) – Signature Sounds

Dawn Landes – Hard is the Fortune of All Womankind (1830) – The Liberated Woman’s Songbook – Funmachine

Peggy Seeger – Different Therefore Equal (live) – Three Score and Ten – AppleSeed

Jeffrey Foucault – Mayfly – Stripping Cane – Signature Sounds

Bill Morrissey & Greg Brown – Fishing With Bill – Friend of Mine – Philo/Rounder

Anya Hinkle – Bound Away – Oceania – Red Parlor Records

Watchhouse (Mandolin Orange) – Time We Made Time – Tides of A Teardrop – Yep Roc

Iron & Wine – Anyone’s Game – Light Verse – Sub Pop

New Dangerfield – Dangerfield Newby – [single] – Free Dirt Records

Della Mae – Boston Town – Della Mae – Rounder Records

Chris Smither – Time To Move On – All of the Bones – Signature Sound

The Wailin’ Jennys – Wildflowers – Fifteen – Red House Records

Hour Two

Kyshona – Carolina (feat. Keb’ Mo’) – Legacy – Soundly Music

Yasmin Williams – Sunshowers – Urban Driftwood – Spinster Sounds

Eric Bibb – Along the Way (live) – Live at The Scala Theatre – Stony Plain/Repute Records

Barnstar! – Anybody Got A Light – Furious Kindness – Barnstar!

William Prince – Lighthouse – Reliever – Glassnote Records

Leyla McCalla – Basic Folk Interview excerpt Cindy Howes & Lizzie No with Leyla McCalla – Basic Folk interview clip – Basic Folk

Leyla McCalla – Scaled to Survive – Sun Without the Heat – Anti

Bronwyn Keith-Hynes – Trip Around the Sun (feat. Dierks Bentley) – [single] – Bronwyn Keith-Hynes

Dierks Bentley (Chris Thile & Punch Brothers) – Señor (Tales of Yankee Power) – Up On the Ridge – Capitol

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – Heartless – South of Here – Stax Records

Cahalen Morrison – Where the Bluebirds Sing – Wealth of Sorrow – Cahalen Morrison

Tyler Childers (comp) – Going Home – Live On Mountain Stage: Outlaws and Outliers – Oh Boy

Wilco (comp) – Space Oddity – Live On Mountain Stage: Outlaws and Outliers – Oh Boy


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By