Folk Alley Radio Show #231123

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Quebec’s La Bottine Souriate, Dori Freeman, Chris Stapleton, and Rosanne Cash, from her 30th Anniversary remastered edition of ‘The Wheel’; plus, we’ll hear advance singles from John Leventhal’s forthcoming debut solo album and one from Woody Platt with Del McCoury. All this, and favorites from Jesca Hoop, Greg Brown, Dave Simonett, and more.

In hour two, more music from forthcoming 2024 releases from Sierra Ferrell, Ireland’s Henry Girls, Sarah Jarosz, and The Steel Wheels; new favorites from Jeffrey Martin, Alison Brown, Leftover Salmon, Karan Casey, Yasmin Williams, and much more.


Hour One

La Bottine Souriante – Tralala – Domino! – La Bottine Souriante

Rosier – La Poison – Légèrement – Famgroup

Rosanne Cash – The Wheel (Live From Austin City Limits 7/26/1993) – The Wheel: 30th Anniversary Edition – RumbleStrip Records

John Leventhal – That’s All I Know About Arkansas (feat. Rosanne Cash) – Rumble Strip – Rumble Strip Records/Thirty Tigers

Iron & Wine – Naked as We Came (live) – Who Can See Forever – Sub Pop

Jesca Hoop – The Lost Sky – Memories Are Now – Sub Pop

The Head & The Heart – Lost in My Mind – The Head and the Heart – Sub Pop

Dori Freeman – Movie Screen – Do You Recall – Blue Hens Music

Greg Brown – Small Dark Movie – Further In – Red House

Woody Platt – Broke Down Engine (feat. Del McCoury) – [single] – Compass

Justin Moses – My Baby’s Gone (feat. Del McCoury) – Fall Like Rain – Mountain Fever Records

Del & Dawg – Highway of Regret – Hardcore Bluegrass in the Dawg House – Acoustic Disc

Dave Simonett – You Belong Right Here – Red Tail – Dancing Eagle/Thirty Tigers

Chris Stapleton – It Takes a Woman – Higher – Sound Records/UMG Recordings

Hour Two

Sierra Ferrell – Fox Hunt – [single] – Rounder

Alison Brown – Foggy Morning Breaking (feat Steve Martin) – On Banjo – Compass Records

Leftover Salmon – Country Blues – Grass Roots – Compass

Jeffrey Martin – Paper Crown – Thank God We Left the Garden – Fluff & Gravy Records

John Craigie – Virgin Guitar – No Rain, No Rose – Zabriskie Point Records

The Henry Girls – Not Your Fight – A Time To Grow – CPL-Music

Karan Casey – Sister I Am Here For You (feat. Niamh Dunne) – Nine Apples of Gold – Vertical

Sarah Jarosz – When The Lights Go Out – Polaroid Lovers – Rounder

John Smith – Deserving (feat. Sarah Jarosz) – The Fray – Thirty Tigers

The Steel Wheels – Wait On You – Sideways – Big Ring Records

Yasmin Williams – Urban Driftwood (ft Amadou Kouyate) – Urban Driftwood – Spinster Sounds

Robby Hecht & Caroline Spence – The Real Thing – Two People – Old Man Henry Records

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – Find Your People (acoustic) – [single] – Magnolia Music

Donna the Buffalo – I Love My Tribe – Tonight, Tomorrow and Yesterday – Sugar Hill


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By