Folk Alley Radio Show #230928

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for songs for harvest time from Neil Young and Stephanie Davis; a roundup of the 2023 Americana Music Association Award winners; new music from Buddy & Julie Miller, Martin Simpson and Thomm Jutz, and Dori Freeman; and favorites from Richard & Linda Thompson and The Secret Sister.

In hour two, more new music from Antje Duvekot, Balsam Range, Joan Osbourne, Brett Cobb, Rhiannon Giddens, Ed Prosek, and Rachel Kilgour; plus favorites from Mark Erelli, Ruthie Foster, Taj Mahal, Rose Cousins, and much more.


Hour One

Neil Young – Harvest Moon – Harvest Moon – Reprise

Stephanie Davis – Talkin’ Harvest Time Blues – Crocus In The Snow – Recluse

Martin Simpson and Thomm Jutz – Come All You Fair and Tender Ladies (feat Cara Dillon) – Nothing But Green Willow: The Songs of Mary Sands and Jane Gentry – Topic Records Limited

Richard and Linda Thompson – When I Get To The Border – I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight – Hannibal

Billy Strings – The Fire On My Tongue – Renewal – Rounder

S.G. Goodman – Space and Time – Old Time Feeling – Verve Forecast

Bonnie Raitt – Just Like That – Just Like That – Redwing Records

Tyler Childers – Angel Band (Hallelujah Version) – Can I Take My Hounds To Heaven? – Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records

Buddy and Julie Miller – Don’t Make Her Cry – In the Throes – New West Records

The Secret Sisters – Dirty Lie – Put Your Needle Down – Universal Republic

Old Crow Medicine Show – Wagon Wheel – Old Crow Medicine Show – Nettwerk

Dori Freeman – Do You Recall – Do You Recall – Blue Hens Music

Bill and the Belles – Taking Back My Yesterday – Happy Again – Bill and the Belles/Ditty Boom

Hour Two

Antje Duvekot – Girl on a Wire – My New Wild West – Antje Duvekot

Mark Erelli – You – Lay Your Darkness Down – Mark Erelli/Soundly Music

Balsam Range – We’ll All Drink Money – [single] – Crossroads Entertainment

Victor Furtado – Rusty – Dellorto Island – Patuxent Music

Nickel Creek – The Fox – Nickel Creek – Sugar Hill

Joan Osborne – Nobody Owns You – Nobody Owns You – Womanly Hips

Ruthie Foster – Feels Like Freedom – Healing Time – Blue Corn Music

Brent Cobb – Patina – Southern Star – Ol’ Buddy Records

Jamestown Revival – Fur Coat Blues – Utah – Republic Records

Ed Prosek – Hallelujah – The Foreigner EP – Ed Prosek/Nettwerk

Rhiannon Giddens – Way Over Yonder – You’re the One – Nonesuch Records

Dom Flemons – But They Got It Fixed Right On – Prospect Hill – Music Maker Relief Foundation

Taj Mahal – Little Red Hen Blues – Oooh So Good ‘n Blues – Columbia

Rachael Kilgour – Heart on Fire – My Father Loved Me – Rachael Kilgour

Rose Cousins – All the Stars – We Have Made a Spark – Old Farm Pony Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By