Folk Alley Radio Show #230907

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for some great new September releases from Golden Aster,  Steep Canyon Rangers, Allison Russell, and Tyler Childers; we celebrate 20 years of Folk Alley by looking back to a few favorites of 2003 from Natalie Merchant, Bryan Sutton, and Gillian Welch; plus, a happy birthday shout-out to Maria Muldaur; and more faves from Yola, Caitlin Canty, and The Milk Carton Kids.

In hour two, it’s more new releases from Chris Pierce, Honeysuckle, and Billy Wylder; advance singles from forthcoming albums by Joni Mitchell, the Lonesome Ace Stringband, Viv and Riley, Margo Cilker, and Margo Price; plus favorites from Tinariwen, Lily Henley, Small Glories, Aimee Mann, and much more.


Hour One

Natalie Merchant – Down on Penny’s Farm – The House Carpenter’s Daughter – Myth America

Bryan Sutton – The High Road – Bluegrass Guitar – Sugar Hill

Gillian Welch – Look at Miss Ohio – Soul Journey – Acony

Maria Muldaur with Tuba Skinny – I Like You Best of All – Let’s Get Happy Together – Stony Plain Music

Jim Kweskin Jug Band – Garden of Joy – Garden of Joy – Reprise Records

Golden Aster – Like I Thought – Marcescence – Golden Aster

The Milk Carton Kids – When You’re Gone – I Only See the Moon – Far Cry Records

Tyler Childers – In Your Love – Rustin’ in the Rain – Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records

The War and Treaty – Love Like There’s No Tomorrow – Healing Tide – Strong World Entertainment/Thirty Tigers

Caitlin Canty – My Love For You Will Not Fade – Reckless Skyline – Caitlin Canty

Steep Canyon Rangers – Hominy Valley – Morning Shift – Yep Roc

The Steel Wheels – Milo – Leave Some Things Behind – Big Ring Records

Bronwyn Keith-Hynes – Last Train (feat. Sarah Jarosz) – Fiddler’s Pastime – Sugar Petunia

Allison Russell – The Returner – The Returner – Fantasty Records

Yola – Walk Through Fire – Walk Through Fire – Easy Eye Sounds

Hour Two:

Joni Mitchell – Help Me (demo) – Archives, Vol. 3: The Asylum Years (1972-1975) – Rhino

Boygenius – Cool About It – the record – Interscope

Billy Wylder – We Are the Ones – Trying to Get Free – Sand & Gold Records

Tinariwen – Tenere Den – Amatssou – Wedge

Lily Henley – Morena Me Llaman – Oras Dezaoradas – Lior Éditions

Lonesome Ace Stringband – Sweeter Sound – Try To Make It Fly – Lonesome Ace Stringband

The Small Glories – Black Waterside – Songs by Cara Luft & JD Edwards (EP) – The Small Glories

Viv & Riley – Imaginary People – Imaginary People – Free Dirt Records

Margo Cilker – With the Middle – Valley of Heart’s Delight – Fluff & Gravy Records

Honeysuckle – Rearview Mirror – [single] – Honeysuckle

Joel Mabus – Brown County Bounce – A Bird In This World – Fossil Records

Chris Pierce – We Can Always Come Back To This – Let All Who Will – Friends at Work

Margo Price – Malibu – Strays II – Loma Vista

Aimee Mann – Lies of Summer – Mental Illness – Super Ego Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By