Folk Alley Radio Show #221208

This week on Folk Alley join host Elena See for new music from Kyshona, First Aid Kit, Seamus Egan, and Irene Kelley with the Kruger Brothers; newly released “classics” from Bob Dylan and Tom Petty; favorites from Jimmy LaFave, Earls of Leicester, and Patty Griffin; plus, we remember folk music greats, Bill Staines and David Surette one year after their passing.

In hour two, new music from Dolly Parton, Jamestown Revival, and Laura Cortese; an advance single from Mark Erelli’s upcoming 2023 album, ‘Lay Your Darkness Down’; and we continue our celebration of great music released in 2022 with more Folk Alley favorites of the year, including songs from Molly Tuttle & Crooked Tree, Rhiannon Giddens, Eliza Gilkyson, Vieux Farka Touré, and more.


Hour One:

Irene Kelley – Come Some Winter Morning (feat. the Kruger Brothers) – Snow White Memories – Irene Kelley

Seamus Egan – Winter’s Traveler – Good Winter – TLH Records

First Aid Kit – Fallen Snow – Palomino – Columbia Records

The Gibson Brothers – Dust – Darkest Hour – Bull Run/Rainmaker Music

Jerry Douglas – Shoulder to Shoulder – Slide Rule – Sugar Hill

The Earls of Leicester – Just Ain’t – Rattle & Roar – Rounder

Bob Dylan – Love Sick [Version 2] – Fragments – Time Out of Mind Sessions (1996-1997), The Bootleg Series Vol.17 [Deluxe Edition] – Columbia Records

Jimmy LaFave – Not Dark Yet – Cimmarron Manifesto – Red House

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers – American Girl (Live) – Live At The Fillmore (1997) – Petty Legacy/Warner

Mudcrutch – I Forgive It All – 2 – Reprise Records

Kyshona – Nighttime Animal (feat. ZG Smith) – Parthenon Sessions EP – Tonetree Music

Patty Griffin – Rider of Days – Servant of Love – PGM/Thirty Tigers

Bill Staines – Winter – Tracks and Trails – Philo

Susie Burke & David Surette – April with the Flying Bow – Waiting for the Sun – Madrina Music

Hour Two:

Dolly Parton – A Smoky Mountain Christmas – A Holly Dolly Christmas: Ultimate Deluxe Edition – Rhino Records

Bela Fleck & The Flecktones – Linus & Lucy – Jingle All The Way – Rounder

Jamestown Revival – Blue Christmas – Songs That Sleigh EP – Thirty Tigers

Laura Cortese – Spend the Night (feat Douglas Firs) – [single] – Compass Records

Mark Erelli – You – Lay Your Darkness Down – Mark Erelli/Soundly Music

Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway – Crooked Tree – Crooked Tree – Nonesuch Records

Birds of Play – Tarab – Murmurations Vol. 2 – Birds of Play

Rhiannon Giddens – Build A House (feat. Yo-Yo Ma and Francesco Turrisi) – [single] – Nonesuch

Rakish – Counting Down the Hours – Counting Down The Hours – Rakish

Eliza Gilkyson – The Hill Behind This Town – Songs From the River Wind – Howlin’ Dog Records

Vieux Farka Touré – Gabou Ni Tie – Les Racines – World Circuit

Punch Brothers – Church Street Blues – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

Rachel Sumner & Traveling Light – Easton – Rachel Sumner & Traveling Light – Sad Luck Dame


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 67 stations nationally.

Supported By