Folk Alley Radio Show #221124

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See to kick off the Winter holiday season with new music from Taj Mahal & Maria Muldaur, Old Crow Medicine Show, and Dolly Parton; songs of gratitude from Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors and Monica Rizzio; more new releases from Seamus Egan & Moira Smiley, Melissa Carper, and Billy Strings with his dad, Terry Barber; plus favorites from EmmyLou Harris, Lyle Lovett, David Francey, and more.

In hour two, hear more new music from Norway’s Døssi, Adeem the Artist, Dropkick Murphys, and H.C. McEntire; favorites from The Tallest Man On Earth, Ondara, Trampled By Turtles, and Humbird; plus we hear from some of this year’s Grammy Award nominees.


Hour One:

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – Gratitude – [single] – Goodbye Road

Monica Rizzio – Sunshine Is Free – Sunshine Is Free – Washashore Music

Taj Mahal & Maria Muldaur – Baby It’s Cold Outside – Christmas Classics – Stony Plain Records

Old Crow Medicine Show – Trim This Tree – [single] – ATO

Dolly Parton – Wrapped Up In You – A Holly Dolly Christmas: Ultimate Deluxe Edition – Rhino Records

Seamus Egan & Moira Smiley – Mourning Dove – Good Winter – Seamus Egan

Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal – Fleet Foxes – Sub Pop

Melissa Carper – Texas, Texas, Texas – Ramblin’ Soul – Mae Music

Lyle Lovett – Natural Forces – Natural Forces – Curb

Billy Strings – John Deere Tractor – Me/And/Dad – Rounder Records

Emmylou Harris – Hard Life/Abraham, Martin, & John – At the Ryman – Reprise

David Francey – Lucky Man – Far End of Summer – LakerMusic

Patty Griffin – Get Lucky – Tape – Home Recordings & Rarities – PGM/Thirty Tigers

Hour Two:

Aoife O’Donovan – Prodigal Daughter (feat. Allison Russell) – Age of Apathy – YepRoc

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – It Don’t Bother Me – Raise the Roof – Rounder Records

Peter Rowan – Little Joe – Calling You From My Mountain – Rebel Records

Shemekia Copeland – Gullah Geechee – Done Come Too Far – Alligator Records

Taj Mahal & Ry Cooder – Pick A Bale of Cotton – Get On Board – The Songs of Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee – Nonesuch

DØSSI – Last Time Together – lovebirds, pt.2 – let go – GEMS

The Tallest Man On Earth – Leading Me Now – There’s No Leaving Now – Dead Oceans

LSMR (Louise Støjberg & Martin Rauff) – Trim Your Wick – Appetite for Distraction – GO’ Danish Folk Music

Adeem the Artist – Run This Town – White Trash Revelry – Four Quarters Records

Ondara – Mr. Landlord – Folk N’ Roll Vol 1: Tales of Isolation – Verve Forecast

The Dropkick Murphys – Never Git Drunk No More (feat. Nikki Lane) – This Machine Still Kills Fascists – Dummy Luck Music

Scott Vestal – Mood Swing – In Pursuit of Happiness – Vestal

H.C. McEntire – Dovetail – Every Acre – Merge

Trampled By Turtles – Burlesque Desert Window – Alpenglow – BanjoDad Records (Thirty Tigers)

Humbird – Pharmakon – Pharmakon – Green Thumb


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 67 stations nationally.

Supported By