Folk Alley Radio Show #220818

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for songs to celebrate summer’s bounty from Guy Clark, Earls of Leicester, and the Honey Dewdrops; new music from Anna Tivel, Peter Mulvey & SistaStings, Hawktail, Goodnight Moonshine, and Lauren Balthrop; a 2’fer set featuring the new tribute compilation to John Anderson with songs from John Prine and Brett Cobb; Watchhouse (formerly Mandolin Orange) goes all-acoustic; and much more.

In hour two, more new music from Alice Howe, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, Amythyst Kiah, Dead Horses, Shemekia Copeland, and Kelsey Waldon; plus favorite from Alison Krauss, Abigail Washburn, Martin Sexton, David Wax Museum, and much more.


Hour One:

Guy Clark (live) – Homegrown Tomatoes – Songs and Stories – Dualtone

The Earls of Leicester – Shuckin’ the Corn – The Earls of Leicester – Rounder

The Honey Dewdrops – Garden – Light Behind Light – The Honey Dewdrops

Watchhouse – Belly of the Beast – Watchhouse (Duo) – Tiptoe Tiger Music

The Punch Brothers – I Blew It Off – The Phosphorescent Blues – Nonesuch Records

Anna Tivel – The Dial – Outsiders – Mama Bird Recording Co.

Margo Cilker – Tehachapi – Pohorylle – Fluff and Gravy Records

Buffalo Kin – Derecho – Wild Open Country – Buffalo Kin

John Prine – 1959 – Something Borrowed, Something New – Easy Eye Sound

Brent Cobb – Wild and Blue – Something Borrowed, Something New – Easy Eye Sound

Peter Mulvey & SistaStrings – Soft Animal – Love Is the Only Thing – Righteous Babe Records

Hawktail – Updraft – Place of Growth – Padiddle Records

Goodnight Moonshine – What You Wanna Know – [single] – Goodnight Moonshine

Lauren Balthrop – What of the Days – Things Will Be Different – Olivia Records

Cat Stevens – The Wind – Teaser And The Firecat – A & M

Hour Two:

Alice Howe – 500 Miles – Americana Railroad – BMG/Renew Records

Billy Bragg & Joe Henry – The L&N Don’t Stop Here Anymore – Shine A Light: Field Recordings From The Great American Railroad – Cooking Vinyl

Alison Krauss – Steel Rails – I’ve Got That Old Feeling – Rounder

Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen – Hold On – Hold On – Compass

Abigail Washburn – Sometimes – Song of the Traveling Daughter – Nettwerk

Amythyst Kiah – Love Will Tear Us Apart – Pensive Pop EP – Rounder Records/Concord

Martin Sexton – Love Keep Us Together – Black Sheep – Eastern Fr

Dead Horses – It’s All Good – Brady Street – Vos & Wolff

Mipso – Edges Run – Edges Run – AntiFragile Music

David Wax Museum – The Persimmon Tree – Carpenter Bird – David Wax Museum

Kelsey Waldon – Tall and Mighty – No Regular Dog – Oh Boy Records

Willi Carlisle – Vanlife – Peculiar, Missouri – Free Dirt Records

Shemekia Copeland – Gullah Geechee – Done Come Too Far – Alligator Records

Cahalen Morrison – Those Mighty Beasts of Holm – Wealth of Sorrow – Cahalen Morrison


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By