Folk Alley Radio Show #210715

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music by The Flatlanders, Ana Egge, Michigan Rattlers, J.P. Harris’ Dreadful Wind and Rain, and Anya Hinkle; classics from Blaze Foley, Joni Mitchell, and Iris DeMent; plus favorites from Old Crow Medicine Show, Red Tail Ring, River Whyless, and more.

In hour two, more new releases from Robin & Linda Williams, Miss Tess, Ali Comerford, and Vincent Neil Emerson; from our Sessions archives, an exclusive in-studio performance by Peter Case; plus favorites by Mary Chapin Carpenter, Guy Clark, Molly Tuttle, David Huckfelt, Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, and more.


Hour One:

The Flatlanders – Mama Do the Kangaroo – Treasure of Love – Rack ‘Em Records

Cindy Cashdollar (feat. Albert Lee) – Memphis Blues – Waltz for Abilene – Silver Shot Records

Blaze Foley – Big Cheeseburgers & Good French Fries – Sittin’ By the Road – Lost Art Records

Joni Mitchell – Michael From Mountains – Joni Mitchell/Song to a Seagull – Reprise

Tom Rush (Don Flemons) – Your Baby Ain’t Sweet Like Mine (live) – Celebrates 50 Years of Music – Appleseed Recordings

Ana Egge – Wait A Minute – [single] – StorySounds

Iris Dement – Our Town – Infamous Angel – Warner Bros

Michigan Rattlers – The Storm – That Kind Of Life – Mezcal Road Records

The Ragbirds – Lemon Grove – The Threshold & The Hearth – The Ragbirds

Red Tail Ring – Yarrow – Fall Away Blues – Earthwork Music

J.P. Harris’ Dreadful Wind & Rain – Closer to the Mill (Going to California) feat. Chance McCoy – Don’t You Marry No Railroad Man – Free Dirt Records

Old Crow Medicine Show – Elzick’s Farewell – Volunteer – Sony/Columbia

Old Crow Medicine Show – Old Hickory – Volunteer – Sony/Columbia

River Whyless – Falling Son – We Are the Light – Roll Call Records

Anya Hinkle – I Belong To The Band – Eden and Her Borderlands – Organic Record

Hour Two:

Robin & Linda Williams – A Better Day A-Coming – A Better Day A-Coming – Robin & Linda Williams

The Steel Wheels – Milo – Leave Some Things Behind – Big Ring Records

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Why Shouldn’t We – The Calling – Zoe

Miss Tess – Real Change – [single] – Miss Tess

Molly Tuttle – Light Came In (Power Went Out) – When You’re Ready – Compass Records

David Huckfelt – Land of Room Enough Time Enough – Room Enough, Time Enough – Gamblers Dharma Records

The Pines – Hanging From the Earth – Above the Prairie – Red House Records

Ali Comerford – Knots – Knots – Ali Comerford

Peter Case (In-studio) – Ain’t Gonna Worry No More – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive Recordings

Vincent Neil Emerson – Texas Moon – Vincent Neil Emerson – La Honda Records

Townes Van Zandt – No Place to Fall – Rear View Mirror – Sugar Hill

Guy Clark – Hemingway’s Whiskey – The Best of the Dualtone Years – Dualtone

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – Say It Louder – Tearing at the Seams – Stax/Concord

Flock of Dimes – Walking – Head of Roses – Subpop


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By