Folk Alley Radio Show #200917

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for music from great new releases from Cahalen Morrison, Jordan Tice, Anya Hinkle, and Freddy & Francine; we celebrate Ani DiFranco’s big 5.0. with a rebroadcast of our 2016 exclusive Folk Alley in-studio Session; and we remember the legendary Toots Hibbert – founder and frontman of Toots & The Maytals who passed away on September 11 from COVID-19 complications.

In hour two it’s more music new music from Daniel Rodriguez, Bronwyn Keith-Hynes, Josh Ritter, and Otis Gibbs; classics from Jefferson Airplane and Muddy Waters; plus favorites from Yola, Lucinda Williams, Greg Brown, Slaid Cleaves, and more!!

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Toots & The Maytals – Pressure Drop – Sweet & Dandy – Charly Records

Toots & the Maytals – Take Me Home Country Roads – Reggae Playground – Putumayo

Cahalen Morrison – My Girl’s Heavy – Wealth of Sorrow – Cahalen Morrison

Olav Mjelva & Eli West – Winchell’s Falls – Hand To Play – Olav Mjelva & Eli West

Sera Cahoone House Our Own – From Where I Started – Lady Muleskinner Records

Ani DiFranco – Allergic To Water (in-studio) – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Ani DiFranco – Binary (in-studio) – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Jordan Tice – Matter of Time – Motivational Speakeasy – Jordan Tice

Oliver the Crow – As the Crow Flies – Oliver the Crow – Oliver the Crow

Anya Hinkle – Hills of Swannanoa – [single] – Organic Records

Tall County – Hutch – Featherweight – Tall County

Gillian Welch – Shotgun Song – Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs, Vol. 1 – Acony Records

Freddy & Francine – Slow Down – I Am Afraid To Die! – Freddie & Francine

Caroline Spence – Slow Dancer – Spades & Roses – Caroline Spence

Hour Two:

Daniel Rodriguez – A Thousand Lights – Sojourn of a Burning Sun – Renew Records

Jefferson Airplane – Embryonic Journey – Surrealistic Pillow – RCA/BMG

Yola – Home – Orphan Offering (EP) – Yola Carter/Ear Trumpet Music

Bronwyn Keith-Hynes – The Minstrel Boy (feat. Tim O’Brien) – Fiddler’s Pastime – Sugar Petunia Records

Tim O’Brien – Cornbread Nation – Cornbread Nation – Howdy Skies

Josh Ritter – Be of Good Heart – See Here, I Have Built You A Mansion [EP] – Pytheas Records/Thirty Tigers

Joan Baez – Whistle Down the Wind – Whistle Down the Wind – Razor & Tie/Concord Records

Slaid Cleaves – Broke Down – Broke Down – Philo

Ruthie Foster (feat. Derek Trucks) – Joy Comes Back – Joy Comes Back – Blue Corn Music

Otis Gibbs – Nine Foot Problem – Hoosier National – Wanamaker Recording Company

Carrie Newcomer – Ghost Train – Before & After – Rounder Records

Muddy Waters – You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had – Folk Singer – MCA/Chess

Lucinda Williams – Side of the Road – Lucinda Williams – Lucinda Williams Music/Thirty Tigers

Greg Brown – Canned Goods – One More Goodnight Kiss – Red House


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By