Folk Alley Radio Show #200910

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for some songs for the end of the summer by Cheryl Wheeler, Alison Brown, and David Francey; new music by Bronwyn Keith-Hynes from her debut solo album, ‘Fiddler’s Pastime,’ The Texicana Mamas, and Wood & Wire; new re-recordings of “fan favorites” from Chris Smither and Hayes Carll; and from our Sessions archive, exclusive Folk Alley recordings of Wine Women and Song (Suzy Bogguss, Gretchen Peters, and Matraca Berg) and Mandolin Orange.

In hour two it’s more music from some of our favorite new releases by Dirk Powell, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon, Jayme Stone, Lynn Miles, and The Avett Brothers; plus faves from Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Nick Drake, Paul Simon, and more!

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Cheryl Wheeler – Summer’s Almost Over – Defying Gravity – Philo

Alison Brown – The Sound of Summer Running – Stolen Moments – Compass Records

David Francey – Far End of Summer – Far End of Summer – Laker Music

Bronwyn Keith-Hynes – Last Train (feat. Sarah Jarosz) – Fiddler’s Pastime – Sugar Petunia Records

Peter Rowan Bluegrass Band – Jailer Jailer – Legacy – Compass Records

Chris Smither – Lonely Time – More From the Levee – Signature Sounds

Tracy Grammer – If I Needed You – [single] – Tracy Grammer

Hayes Carll – Drunken Poet’s Dream (feat. Ray Wylie Hubbard) – Alone Together Sessions – Dualtone

Ruthie Foster – Death Came A-Knockin’ (Travelin’ Shoes) – Runaway Soul – Blue Corn Music

Ray Bonneville – Where Has My Easy Gone – Easy Gone – Red House Records

The Texicana Mamas – Cocina de Amor (Kitchen of Love) – The Texicana Mamas – The Texicana Mamas

Wine, Women, and Song (feat. Suzy Bogguss) – Hammer and Nail – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Wood & Wire – Spirit of ’94 – No Matter Where It Goes From Here – Blue Corn Music

Mandolin Orange – Waltz About Whiskey (in-studio) – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley exclusive recording

Hour Two:

Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley – Nobody Can Tell Me I Can’t – World Full of Blues – Compass Records

Old Salt Union – Johann’s Breakdown – Where the Dogs Don’t Bite – Compass Records

Dirk Powell – The Bright Light of Day – When I Wait For You – Compass Records

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Where the Beauty Is – The Dirt and the Stars – Lambent Light Records (Thirty Tigers)

Donna the Buffalo – Beauty Within – Silverlined – Sugar Hill

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon – The Only One – Noon – ATO

Paul Simon – Can’t Run But – The Rhythm of The Saints – Warner Bros.

Jayme Stone – Wait For Heaven – Awake – Jayme Stone

Lindsay Lou – Roll With Me – Southland – Lindsay Lou Music

Nick Drake – Road – Pink Moon – Hannibal

The Avett Brothers – Victory – The Third Gleam – Loma Vista

Rodrigo y Gabriela – Somnium – 9 Dead Alive – ATO

Indigo Girls – When We Were Writers – Look Long – Rounder

The Milk Carton Kids – Secrets of the Stars – Monterey – ANTI-

Lynn Miles – We’ll Look For Stars – We’ll Look For Stars – Lynn Miles


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By