Folk Alley Radio Show #200827

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See as we remember the life and music of Justin Townes Earle who passed away suddenly on August 23rd; plus new music from Molly Tuttle, Lynn Miles, Tracy Grammer, The Mavericks, and Steep Canyon Rangers; and we share some exciting news about the Steve Martin Banjo Prize as it enters its second decade of awarding grants to outstanding banjo players.

In hour two, more new music from Jayme Stone, Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon, Dirk Powell, Emma Swift, Kris Delmhorst, and Hayes Carll; favorites from Darrin Bradbury, John McCutcheon, and much more.

Hour One:

Justin Townes Earle – Harlem River Blues – Harlem River Blues – Bloodshot Records

Justin Townes Earle – Wanderin’ – Harlem River Blues – Bloodshot Records

Molly Tuttle – She’s a Rainbow – …but i’d rather be with you – Compass Records

John Craigie – Tumbling Dice – No Rain, No Rose – Zabriskie Point Records

James Lee Stanley w/ John Batdorf – Last Time – All Wood And Stones – Beachwood

Noam Pikelny (Steve Martin) – Cluck Old Hen – Beat The Devil and Carry A Rail – Compass Records

Noam Pikelny – Old Banjo – Universal Favorite – Rounder

Victor Furtado – Denver Belle – Dellorto Island – Patuxent Music

Lynn Miles – A Heart Can Only Take So Much – We’ll Look For Stars – Lynn Miles

David Francey – Over You – The Waking Hour – Red House Records

The Mavericks – Recuerdos (Memories) – En Español – Mono Mundo/Thirty Tigers

The Mavericks – No Vale la Pena (It’s Not Really Worth It) – En Español – Mono Mundo/Thirty Tigers

Tracy Grammer – I’ll Be Here In the Morning – [single] – Tracy Grammer

Robby Hecht & Caroline Spence – The Real Thing – Two People – Old Man Henry Records

Steep Canyon Rangers – Every River – Arm In Arm – Yep Roc

Hour Two:

John McCutcheon – Mail Myself To You – Mail Myself To You – Rounder

Joy Kills Sorrow – Send Me A Letter – Darkness Sure Becomes This City – Signature Sounds

Emma Swift – Going Going Gone – Blonde on the Tracks – Tiny Ghost Records

Ronnie McCoury – Dawggone – Heartbreak Town – Rounder

Sarah Jarosz – I’ll Be Gone – World On the Ground – Rounder

Jayme Stone – Brotherless – AWake – Jayme Stone

Moira Smiley – Sing About It (feat. Kristen Toedtman – Unzip The Horizon – Moira Smiley Music

Dirk Powell – I Ain’t Playing Pretty Polly – When I Wait For You – Compass Records

Rhiannon Giddens – We Could Fly – Freedom Highway – Nonesuch

Darrin Bradbury – This Too Shall Pass – Talking Dogs & Atom Bombs – Epitaph/ANTI

Leo Kottke – Ants – Noon – ATO

John Prine – Just Waitin’ – For Better, Or Worse – Oh Boy / Thirty Tigers

Hayes Carll – Down The Road Tonight (Acoustic) – Alone Together Sessions – Dualtone

Kris Delmhorst – Bless Your Little Heart – Long Day In the Milky Way – Big Bean Music


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By