Folk Alley Radio Show #190801

This week on Folk Alley, another encore broadcast of a show first heard last summer featuring music by Rodney Crowell, We Banjo 3, The Travelin’ McCourys, and Old Crow Medicine Show; we remember Jimmy LaFave with a set from his 2018, posthumously released album, ‘Peace Town’; plus favorites from Hurray for the Riff Raff, Spirit Family Reunion, and more.

In hour two, a set of songs from the Indigo Girls album recorded live with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra; plus more great music from Jayme Stone, Aimee Mann, Eric Bibb, John Prine, Dom Flemons, and more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Rodney Crowell – Ain’t Living Long Like This – Acoustic Classics – RC1 Records

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell – No Memories Hanging’ Round – The Traveling Kind – Nonesuch Records

We Banjo 3 – Light in the Sky – Haven – We Banjo 3

Spirit Family Reunion – I Am Following the Sound – No Separation – Spirit Family Reunion

Cortney Hartman – When You See the Morning – Nothing We Say – Courtney Hartman

Jimmy LaFave – Let My Love Open the Door – Peace Town – Music Roads Records

Jimmy LaFave – Minstrel Boy – Howling at the Moon – Peace Town – Music Roads Records

The Travelin’ McCourys – Natural To Be Gone – The Travelin’ McCourys – McCoury Music

Ray LaMontagne – Such a Simple Thing – Part of the Light – RCA

Old Crow Medicine Show – Shout Mountain Music – Volunteer – Sony/ Columbia

Hurray for the Riff Raff – Blue Ridge Mountain – Small Town Heroes – ATO Records

Mile Twelve – Settle Down Blues – Onwards – Delores the Taurus

David Benedict – Leaf By Niggle – The Golden Angle – Shelton Records

I’m With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan) – Ryland (Under the Apple Tree) – See You Around – I’m With Her/Rounder

Hour Two:

Guy Clark (live) – Homegrown Tomatoes – Songs and Stories – Dualtone

Melissa Carper & Rebecca Patek – Death of Sis Draper – Brand New Old-Time Songs – Melissa Carper & Rebecca Patek

Dom Flemons – Going Down the Road Feelin’ Bad – Black Cowboys – Smithsonian Folkways

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Brigg’s Corn Shucking Jig – Leaving Eden – Nonesuch Records

Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite – Trust You To Dig My Grave – No Mercy In This Land – Anti

Aimee Mann – Lies of Summer – Mental Illness – Super Ego Records

John Prine – Knockin’ On Your Screen Door – The Tree of Forgiveness – Oh Boy/Thirty Tigers

Eliza Gilkyson – In the Name of the Lord – Secularia – Red House Records

Eric Bibb – Give A Little More – Sisters & Brothers – Telarc Blues

David Francey – Only Love – The Broken Heart of Everything – Laker Music

Oliver the Crow – Ashes of a Day Gone By – Oliver the Crow – Oliver the Crow

The Fretless – Jenny Bear (live) – Live from the Art Farm – The Fretless

Jayme Stone – Lazy John – Jayme Stone’s Lomax Project – Borealis

Indigo Girls – Galileo (Live) – Live with the University of Colorado Symphony Orchestra – Rounder Records

Indigo Girls – Closer To Fine (Live) – Live with the University of Colorado Symphony Orchestra – Rounder Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By