Folk Alley Radio Show #180823

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, new music with Eliza Gilkyson, David Francey, Birdtalker, Oliver The Crow, and I’m With Her; a live recording from The Indigo Girls with the University of Colorado Symphony Orchestra; a set dedicated to Woody Guthrie with recordings from Jimmy LaFave, Lucinda Williams, Billy Bragg & Wilco; also we’ll hear a track from The Punch Brothers’ new record, ‘All Ashore’; plus favorites from Harry Manx, Odetta, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Lori McKenna, Lera Lynn, Rodney Crowell, The Dead Tongues, David Benedict, We Banjo, and Pharis & Jason Romero; we’ll hear an advance single from Mountain Man’s new recording, ‘Magic Ship’; also a brand new track from Kathy Mattea’s latest album, ‘Pretty Bird.’ All this, plus favorites from Loudon Wainwright III, Kaia Kater, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Eliza Gilkyson – Lifelines – Secularia – Red House Records

Oliver the Crow – Sam River – Oliver the Crow – Oliver the Crow

Harry Manx – Sittin’ On Top Of The World – West Eats Meet – Dog My Cat

Punch Brothers – Jumbo – All Ashore – Nonesuch Records

I’m With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan) – Crescent City – See You Around – I’m With Her/Rounder

Indigo Girls – Able To Sing (Live) – Live with the University of Colorado Symphony Orchestra – Rounder Records

Sam Gleaves – My Singing Bird – Ain’t We Brothers – Community Music

Birdtalker – Free Like a Broken Heart (Acoustic) – One – Birdtalker

River Whyless – Life Crisis – We Are the Light – Roll Call Records

Jimmy LaFave – Salvation Train – Peace Town – Music Road Records

Lucinda Williams – House of Earth – The Ghosts of Highway 20 – Highway 20 Records

Billy Bragg & Wilco – California Stars – Mermaid Avenue – Elektra

Hour Two:

Odetta – Hush Hush Mamie – It’s A Mighty World – RCA/Victor

David Francey – Poorer Then – The Broken Heart of Everything – Laker Music

Lori McKenna – Happy People – The Tree – CN Records/ Thirty Tigers

Radim Zenkl – HappyGrass – Czech It Out – AcouDisc

Loudon Wainwright III – So Damn Happy (live) – So Damn Happy (LIVE) – Sanctuary

Lera Lynn (with Rodney Crowell) – Crimson Underground – Plays Well With Others – Single Lock Records

Rodney Crowell – Anything But Tame – Acoustic Classics – RC1 Records

We Banjo 3 – War of Love – Haven – We Banjo Three

I Draw Slow – My Portion – Turn Your Face To the Sun – Compass Records

Pharis & Jason Romero – Stitch In Time – Sweet Old Religion – Lula Records

Neko Case, kd lang and Laura Veirs – Georgia Stars – case/lang/veirs – Anti/Epitaph

Mountain Man – Rang Tang Ring Toon – Magic Ship – Nonesuch

Sam Bush – Howlin’ at the Moon – Howlin’ at the Moon – Sugar Hill

David Benedict – The Golden Angle – The Golden Angle – Shelton Records

Kathy Mattea – St. Teresa – Pretty Bird – Captain Potato

The Dead Tongues – Thunder and Crash – Unsung Passage – Psychic Hotline

Kaia Kater – West Virginia Boys – Sorrow Bound – Kingswood Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By