The IBMA Hands Out Awards

The International Bluegrass Music Association handed out awards to the tops in their field last night during the annual World of Bluegrass conference in Louisville. The Del McCoury Band was named Entertainer of the Year with Rhonda Vincent continuing her five-year winning streak as Female Vocalist and Larry Sparks earning the counterpart Male Vocalist award. Other big prizes went to Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder for Instrumental Group, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver for Vocal Group, Rhonda Vincent’s Kentucky Borderline for Song, and the Del McCoury Band’s It’s Just the Night for Album of the Year. The Emerging Artist of the Year award went to young studs King Wilkie.

This is the final year for World of Bluegrass in Louisville. Activities move to Nashville in 2005, following the IBMA organization, which moved its headquarters to Tennessee last year.

Supported By