Kerrville Announces 2008 Crop of New Folk Winners

After 800 submissions were whittled down to 32 finalists, the top 6 artists in the Kerrville Folk Festival’s Grassy Hill New Folk Contest performed this weekend in Kerrville, Texas. The 32 finalists played for crowds at the 36th annual festival on May 24 and 25, with judges Jud Caswell, Amy Speace and Jon Vezner picking winners for the spotlight show on June 1. Rod Kennedy, founder of the much-loved festival, acted as host for the event. Folk Alley Open Mic contest winner Chad Elliot made it to the top 32 (couldn’t happen to a nicer guy)! Winners receive a cash honorarium from Texas Folk Music Foundation, Vic & Reba Heyman, and the Jim Ross Memorial Fund (as well as a bunch of other prizes).

Here are this year’s winners:
Devon Sproule (Charlottesville, Virginia)
RJ Cowdery (Columbus, Ohio)
CJ Watson (Nashville, Tennessee)
Hans York (Seattle, Washington)
Robby Hecht (Nashville, Tennessee)
BettySoo (Austin, Texas)

Supported By