Folk Alley Radio Show #240627

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for a sampler of Folk Alley Favorite Albums and Songs of 2024 (so far.) Hear from The Tennessee Freedom Singers, New Dangerfield, Cedric Burnside, Waxahatchee, Melissa Carper, The Mavericks, Sierra Ferrell, Anna Tivel, and much more.

In hour two, it’s new music from Mavis Staples, Maya de Vitry, Jake Xeres Fussell, Linda Thompson featuring son, Teddy Thompson, Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats, and Jeffrey Foucault, from his forthcoming September release, ‘The Universal Fire’; plus, classics from Joni Mitchell; favorites from Lucinda Williams, Kate & Anna McGarrigle; and more.

Folk Alley is able to produce and offer this weekly radio show to over 70 public and community radio stations around the U.S. for FREE thanks to support from our members. If you enjoy this show please donate to Folk Alley or consider becoming a sponsor.


Hour One

The Tennessee Freedom Singers – Tennessee Rise – [single] – Thirty Tigers

New Dangerfield – Dangerfield Newby – [single] – Free Dirt Records

Cedric Burnside – Shake Em On Down – Hill Country Love – Mascot Label

Melissa Carper – Lucky Five – Borned In Ya – Mae Music/Thirty Tigers

Lonesome Ace Stringband – Stage Fright – [single] – Lonesome Ace Stringband

The Mavericks – Moon & Stars (feat. Sierra Ferrell) – Moon & Stars – Mono Mundo Recordings/Thirty Tigers

Sierra Ferrell – American Dreaming – Trail of Flowers – Rounder Records

Waxahatchee – Right Back To It (feat. MJ Lenderman) – Tigers Blood – Anti

Adeem the Artist – Socialite Blues – Anniversary – Four Quarters Records/Thirty Tigers

Rhiannon Giddens (comp) – The Ballad of Sally Anne – My Black Country: The Songs of Alice Randall – Oh Boy Records

Louise Bichan – Deltingside – The Lost Summer – Adhyâropa Records

Anna Tivel – Disposable Camera – Living Thing – Fluff & Gravy

Iron & Wine – All In Good Time (feat. Fiona Apple) – Light Verse – Sub Pop

Hour Two

Jeffrey Foucault – The Universal Fire – The Universal Fire – Fluff and Gravy Records

Chris Smither (comp) – Outside Inside – Further On: The Songs of Billy Conway – Independent

Mavis Staples – Worthy – [single] – ANTI

Lucinda Williams – Born To Be Loved – Blessed – Lost Highway

Maya de Vitry – Compass – The Only Moment – Mad Maker Studio

Jake Xerxes Fussell – Leaving Here, Don’t Know Where I’m Going – When I’m Called – Fat Possum

Joni Mitchell – Coyote – Hejira – Asylum

Joni Mitchell – Amelia – Hejira – Asylum

Linda Thompson – Those Damn Roches (feat. Teddy Thompson) – Proxy Music – Storysound Records

Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Come a Long Way – Dancer With Bruised Knees – Hannibal

The Roches – Mr. Sellack – The Roches – Warner Bro

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – Get Used to the Night – South of Here – Stax Records

Gregory Alan Isakov – Appaloosa Bones – Appaloosa Bones – Suitcase Town Music/Dualtone


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By