Folk Alley Radio Show #240516

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for a show to celebrate Bob Dylan’s upcoming birthday (on May 24) with new versions of Dylan favorites from Cat Power, Gabby Moreno, Aoife O’Donovan, and Sunny Sweeney, Miko Marks, Rissi Palmer, and Tami Neilson; plus some songs co-written with Old Crow Medicine Show, The Secret Sisters, and Buddy & Julie Miller; faves from Tim O’Brien, Joan Baez, Dolly Parton, and Arlo Guthrie; classics from Bob Dylan’s 1962 debut; and much more.

Folk Alley is able to produce and offer this weekly radio show to over 70 public and community radio stations around the U.S. for FREE thanks to support from our members. If you enjoy this show please donate to Folk Alley or consider becoming a sponsor.


Hour One

Bob Dylan – Song To Woody – No Direction Home: The Soundtrack – Sony

Bob Dylan – Talkin’ New York – Bob Dylan – Columbia

Cat Power – She Belongs To Me (live) – Cat Power Sings Dylan: The 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert – Domino

Cat Power – Mr. Tambourine Man (live) – Cat Power Sings Dylan: The 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert – Domino

Gaby Moreno – I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight – Dusk – Gaby Moreno/Cosmica Artists

Aoife O’Donovan – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll – All My Friends – Yep Roc

Willie Nelson & Calexico (comp) – Señor (Tales of Yankee Power) – I’m Not There (Film) – Columbia

Valerie June – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You – Under Cover [EP] – June Tunes/Fantasy

Old Crow Medicine Show – Sweet Amarillo – Remedy – ATO Records

The Secret Sisters – Dirty Lie – Put Your Needle Down – Universal Republic

Buddy and Julie Miller – Don’t Make Her Cry – In the Throes – New West Records

Sunny Sweeney, Miko Marks, Rissi Palmer, Tami Neilson – Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright – [single] – Aunt Daddy Records

Tim O’Brien – Forever Young – Red On Blonde – Sugar Hill

Hour Two

Bob Dylan (Johnny Cash) – Girl From The North Country – Nashville Skyline – Columbia

Joan Baez – Love is Just a Four-Letter Word – The First 10 Years – Vanguard

Dolly Parton – Blowin’ In The Wind (feat. Nickel Creek) – Those Were The Days – Sugarhill

Arlo Guthrie – Percy’s Song – Washington County (1970) – Koch

Jerry Garcia Band – Tangled Up In Blue – Jerry Garcia Band (live) – Arista Records

Leftover Salmon – Simple Twist of Fate – Grass Roots – Compass

Bryan Sutton – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go – The More I Learn – Sugar Hill

Sarah Jarosz – Ring Them Bells – Follow Me Down – Sugar Hill

Nickel Creek – Tomorrow Is A Long Time – Why Should The Fire Die? – Sugarhill

The Band – When I Paint My Masterpiece – Cahoots – Capitol

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band The Times – They Are A-Changin’ (feat. Rosanne Cash, Steve Earle, Jason Isbell, and The War And Treaty) – Dirt Does Dylan – Nitty Gritty Dirt Band


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By