Folk Alley Radio Show #231116

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for a round up of the recently released 2024 Grammy Award nominees in the roots music categories. Hear favorites from Nickel Creek, Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway, Allison Russell, Dom Flemons, Rhiannon Giddens, Mighty Poplar, Michael Cleveland, Billy Strings, and more.

In hour two, it’s new music from Dori Freeman, Hannah Read, Lori McKenna, Muireann Bradley, and The Mammals; advance singles from forthcoming 2024 releases from Lizzie No and Joe Pug; a classic from Mississippi John Hurt; favorites from The Honey Dewdrops, Hayes Carll, David Wax Museum, and much more.


Hour One

Nickel Creek – Where the Long Line Leads – Celebrants – Thirty Tigers

Dom Flemons – Big Money Blues – Traveling Wildfire – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

The Milk Carton Kids – All of the Time In the World To Kill – I Only See the Moon – Far Cry

Joni Mitchell – A Case of You (live, feat. Brandi Carlile) – At Newport – Rhino Entertainment

Rufus Wainwright – Down in the Willow Garden (feat. Brandi Carlile) – Folkocracy – BMG

Allison Russell – The Returner – The Returner – Fantasty Records

Jason Isbell – Cast Iron Skillet – Weathervanes – Southeastern Records

Rhiannon Giddens – You Louisiana Man – You’re the One – Nonesuch Records

Tyler Childers – In Your Love – Rustin’ in the Rain – Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records

Brandy Clark – Buried – Brandy Clark – Warner Records

Mighty Poplar – A Distant Land to Roam – Mighty Poplar – Free Dirt Records

Molly Tuttle and Golden Highway – Next Rodeo – City of Gold – Nonesuch Records

Michael Cleveland – The Lovin’ of the Game (feat. Flamekeeper) – Lovin’ of the Game – Compass Records

Billy Strings – John Deere Tractor – Me/And/Dad – Rounder Records

Willie Nelson – Still Is Still Moving to Me – Bluegrass – Legacy

Hour Two

Dori Freeman – Why Do I Do This To Myself – Do You Recall – Blue Hens Music

Hannah Read – Stinkhorn – The Fungi Sessions Vol.1 – Hannah Read

The Honey Dewdrops – When Was the War – If the Sun Will Shine – self

Lori McKenna – Killing Me (acoustic) – 1988 (Deluxe Edition) – CN Records

Hayes Carll – Times Like These (acoustic) – Alone Together Sessions – Dualtone

Anna Tivel – Invisible Man (acoustic) – Outsiders (Live in a Living Room) – Mama Bird Recording

Muireann Bradley – Richland Woman Blues – I Kept These Old Blues – Tompkins Square

Mississippi John Hurt – Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor – Today – Vanguard

Lizzie No – The Heartbreak Store – Halfsies – Thirty Tigers/Miss Freedomland

The David Wax Museum – Born with a Broken Heart – Everything Is Saved – David Wax Museum

Johnny Cash – Sea of Heartbreak – Unchained – American

Joe Pug – What is Good Will Never Change – Sketch of a Promised Departure – Nation of Heat Records/Soundly Music

Robert Ellis – Gene – Yesterday’s News – Niles City Records

Sunny War – Losing Hand – Simple Syrup – Hen House

The Mammals – Unpopular Ideas – [single] – Humble Abode Music

Sarah Lee Guthrie – Honey and the Dew – [single] – Rosewould Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 70 stations nationally.

Supported By