Folk Alley Radio Show #230622

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for songs to welcome in the official start of summer from The Mavericks and Amanda Shires & Bobbie Nelson; new advance singles from forthcoming albums by Allison Russell and Buffalo Nichols; plus a deep dive into Folk Alley’s picks for Best Folk, Roots, and Americana Music of 2023 (so far) with songs from Eric Bibb, Annie Bartholomew, Caitlin Canty, William Prince, Joy Oladokun, Mark Erelli, Natalie Merchant, Mighty Poplar, The Wood Brothers, Tinariwen, and much more.


Hour One:

The Mavericks – Summertime (When I’m With You) – Mono – The Valory Music Co.

Slavek Hanzlik – Summer Solstice – Summer Solstice – Sierra

Amanda Shires & Bobbie Nelson – Summertime (feat. Willie Nelson) – Loving You – ATO

Allison Russell – The Returner – The Returner – Fantasty Records

Buffalo Nichols – You’re Gonna Need Somebody On Your Bond – The Fatalist – Fat Possum

Steep Canyon Rangers – Hominy Valley – Morning Shift – Yep Roc

Eric Bibb – Ridin’ – Ridin’ – Stony Plain Records

Caitlin Canty – The Odds of Getting Even – Quiet Flame – Caitlin Canty

William Prince – When You Miss Someone – Stand In the Joy – Six Shooter Records

Annie Bartholomew – All for the Klondike’s Gold – Sisters of White Chapel – Muskeg Collection

Béla Fleck, Zakir Hussain & Edgar Meyer – Owl’s Misfortune (feat. Rakesh Chaurasia) – As We Speak – Bela Fleck Productions

Leftover Salmon – Blue Railroad Train – Grass Roots – Compass

Joy Oladokun – Changes – Proof of Life – Amigo Records, Verve Forecast, Republic Records

Mark Erelli – You’re Gonna Wanna Remember This – Lay Your Darkness Down – Mark Erelli/Soundly Music

Hour Two:

Natalie Merchant – Tower Of Babel – Keep Your Courage – Nonesuch

Natalie and Brittany Haas – Free Space/Reel for Dennis – Haas – Padiddle

Mighty Poplar – A Distant Land to Roam – Mighty Poplar – Free Dirt Records

Iris Dement – Workin’ On A World – Workin’ On A World – Songs of Iris/Flariella Records

Ana Egge – Heart Is A Mirror – [single] – StorySound Records

Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy – Woman of the House (feat Rhiannon Giddens) – Canvas – Linus Entertainment/DLL Music/MacMaster Music Inc.

Rhiannon Giddens – You’re the One – You’re the One – Nonesuch Records

The Wood Brothers – Line Those Pockets – Heart is the Hero – Honey Jar/Thirty Tigers

Nickel Creek – Holding Pattern – Celebrants – Thirty Tigers

Parker Millsap – Running On Time – Wilderness Within You – Okrahoma Records

Tinariwen – Tenere Den – Amatssou – Wedge

Ali Farka Touré – Safari – Voyageur – World Circuit Records

Molly Tuttle and Golden Highway – El Dorado – City of Gold – Nonesuch Records

Peter One – Birds Go Die Out of Sight (Don’t Go Home) (feat Allison Russell) – Come Back to Me – Verve Forecast


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By