Folk Alley Radio Show #230406

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Tim O’Brien, Mighty Poplar, Leftover Salmon, Caitlin Canty, The Mammals, and Ethan Setiawan. We’ll dig into our exclusive Folk Alley Sessions archives to share a favorite performance by John Gorka from 2009. Plus you’ll hear favorites from Birds of Play, John Craigie, and Langhorne Slim.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Eilen Jewell, Taylor Ashton, Tinariwen, Kris Drever, Rachel Baiman, and Robert Ellis; plus favorites from Mama’s Broke, Lucinda Williams, and Jake Blount; plus classics from Leo Kottke, John Prine, and more.



Hour One:

Tim O’Brien – Little Lamb Little Lamb – Cup of Sugar – Howdy Skies Records

Mighty Poplar – Grey Eagle – Mighty Poplar – Free Dirt

Vivian Leva and Riley Calcagno – Love and Chains – Vivian Leva and Riley Calcagno – Free Dirt

Leftover Salmon – Simple Twist of Fate – Grass Roots – Compass

Bob Dylan – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go – Blood On The Tracks – Columbia

John Gorka (in studio) – Writing In the Margins – Folk Alley Sessions – exclusive Folk Alley in-studio Sessions

John Gorka (in studio) – Ignorance & Privilege – Folk Alley Sessions – exclusive Folk Alley in-studio Sessions

Caitlin Canty – Wild Heart – Quiet Flame – Caitlin Canty

The Punch Brothers – My Oh My – The Phosphorescent Blues – Nonesuch Records

The Mammals – Families – [single] – Humble Abode Music

Ethan Setiawan – Back, Dog – Gambit – Adhyaropa Records

Birds of Play – Sandhill Cranes – Murmurations Vol. 2 – Birds of Play

John Craigie – Don’t Ask – Asterisk the Universe – Zabriskie Point Records (Thirty Tigers)

Langhorne Slim – Alright To Hide – Strawberry Mansion – Dualtone

Hour Two:

Eilen Jewell – Lethal Love – Get Behind The Wheel – Signature Sounds

Leo Kottke – Busted Bicycle – 6 and 12 String Guitar – Takoma

John Prine – Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow) – Great Days: The John Prine Anthology – Rhino

Taylor Ashton – Hand in My Pocket – Pizza Tickets – Signature Sounds

Mama’s Broke – Windows – Narrow Line – Free Dirt

Tinariwen – Tenere Den – Amatssou – Wedge

Emmylou Harris – Goodbye – Wrecking Ball – Elektra

Kris Drever – Catterline – The Best of (Album, 2023) – Reveal Records

Aoife O’Donovan – Transatlantic (feat. Kris Drever) – [single] – YepRoc

Rachel Baiman – Bad Debt – Common Nation of Sorrow – Signature Sounds

Jake Blount – Once There Was No Sun – The New Faith – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Lucinda Williams – Big Red Sun Blues – Lucinda Williams – Lucinda Williams Music/Thirty Tigers

Robert Ellis – Gene – Yesterday’s News – Niles City Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By