Folk Alley Radio Show #230223

This week on Folk Alley, as Black History Month winds down and we look ahead to Women’s History Month, we celebrate the contributions of amazing Black women of folk, roots, and Americana – both historical and contemporary. Hear music from Bessie Jones, Odetta, Etta Baker, Joan Armatrading, Tracy Chapman, Our Native Daughters, Yasmin Williams, Valerie June, and more.

In hour two, it’s new music from Ana Egge, John Doyle & Mick McAuley, and Karan Casey; advance singles from upcoming spring releases by Eric Bibb, Natalie Merchant, Joy Oladokun, Parker Millsap; favorites from Small Glories, Kate Wolf, The War & Treaty, Keb’ Mo’, Leo Kottke, and more.



Hour One:

Bessie Jones & the Georgia Sea Island Singers – Before This Time Another Year (live) – Friends of Old Time Music-The Folk Arrival 1961-1965 – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Etta Baker – Police Dog Blues – One Dime Blues – Rounder

Odetta – Got My Mind On Freedom – It’s A Mighty World – RCA/Victor

Bessie Smith – Weeping Willow Blues – The Essential Bessie Smith – Sony

Big Mama Thornton – Hound Dog – Hound Dog: The Peacock Recordings – Universal Music

Joan Armatrading – Down To Zero – LIVE All The Way From America – SigmusicUS

Sweet Honey in the Rock – Ella’s Song – Breaths – Flying Fish

Tracy Chapman – Born to Fight – Crossroads – Elektra

Joy Oladokun – Jordan – in defense of my own happiness – Verve Forecast/Republic Records

Valerie June – With You – The Order Of Time – Concord Records

Chastity Brown – Mad Love – [single] – Red House Records

Yasmin Williams – Swift Breeze – Urban Driftwood – Spinster Sounds

Miko Marks & the Resurrectors – Long Journey Home – [single] – Redtone Records

Our Native Daughters (Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, and Allison Russell) – Polly Ann’s Hammer – Songs of Our Native Daughters – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Resistance Revival Chorus – All You Fascists Bound To Lose (feat. Rhiannon Giddens) – This Joy – Righteous Babe Records

Hour Two:

Ana Egge – Heart Is A Mirror – [single] – StorySound Records

Leo Kottke – The Fisherman – 6 and 12 String Guitar – Takoma

Josh Ritter & The Milk Carton Kids – Losing Battles (acoustic) – [single] – Pytheas Recordings

Eric Bibb – 500 Miles – Ridin’ – Stony Plain Records

Molly Tuttle – Million Miles – When You’re Ready – Compass Records

Natalie Merchant – Come On Aphrodite – Keep Your Courage – Nonesuch

The War and Treaty – Love Like There’s No Tomorrow – Healing Tide – Strong World Entertainment/Thirty Tigers

John Doyle & Mick McAuley – It’s Sunrise – John Doyle & Mick McAuley – Doyle & McAuley

Karan Casey – Nine Apples of Gold – Nine Apples of Gold – Vertical Records

Joy Oladokun – Changes – Proof of Life – Amigo Records, Verve Forecast, Republic Records

Keb’ Mo’ – The Medicine Man (feat. Old Crow Medicine Show) – [single] – Concord

The Small Glories – Waterbound – Songs by Cara Luft & JD Edwards (EP) – The Small Glories

Parker Millsap – Running On Time – Wilderness Within You – Okrahoma Records

Kate Wolf – The Redtail Hawk – Gold In California – Kaleidosco


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 68 stations nationally.

Supported By