Folk Alley Radio Show #221103

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Trampled By Turtles and Seth Avett, as he pays tribute to one of his first songwriting heroes; an advance single from the Milk Carton Kids’ upcoming 2023 release; a classic from Jackson Browne; favorites from Gillian Welch and Pharis & Jason Romero; plus, a couple happy birthday shout-outs to Bonnie Raitt and Joni Mitchell.

In hour two, hear the latest releases from Melissa Carper, The Lowest Pair, Vince Herman (of Leftover Salmon), Jason Carter, and The Foreign Landers; advance singles from Frances Luke Accord and Jaimee Harris, from their forthcoming 2023 releases; plus favorites from Odetta, Darlingside, Gregory Alan Isokov, and more.


Hour One:

Bonnie Raitt – Under the Falling Sky – Give It Up – Warner Bro

Jackson Browne – Something Fine – Jackson Browne – Asylum

Joni Mitchell – Cactus Tree (remastered) – The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) – Rhino/Reprise

Brandi Carlile – Harder To Forgive – By the Way, I Forgive You – Elektra

Punch Brothers – Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

I’m With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan) – See You Around – See You Around – I’m With Her/Rounder Records

Seth Avett – Laughing River – Seth Avett Sings Greg Brown – Ramseur

Greg Brown – Two Little Feet – Further In – Red House

The Milk Carton Kids – Running On Sweet Smile – [single] – Far Cry Records

Laurel Premo – Jericho – Golden Loam – Laurel Premo

Gillian Welch – Wichita (Revival outtake) – Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg – Acony

Trampled by Turtles – On The Highway – Alpenglow – BanjoDad Records (Thirty Tigers)

Pharis & Jason Romero – Forsaken Love – A Passing Glimpse – Lula Records

Hour Two:

Melissa Carper – Hit or Miss – Ramblin’ Soul – Mae Music

Odetta – Movin’ It On – Odetta Sings – Polydor

Frances Luke Accord – Window – Safe In Sound – Two-Dale Records/Tone Tree Music

Darlingside – White Horses – Birds Say – Thirty Tigers

The Lowest Pair – Couple of Jerks – Horse Camp – Delicata Records

Jaimee Harris – Missing Someone – Boomerang Town – Thirty Tigers

Jason Isbell – Relatively Easy – Southeastern – Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers

Vince Herman – Lost Lover’s Eyes – Enjoy the Ride – LoHi Records

Elephant Revival – Sands of Now – Sands of Now – Itz Evolving/United Interests

Gregory Alan Isakov – Dark, Dark, Dark – Evening Machines – Dualtone Music Group

Jason Carter – The Six O’Clock Train and A Girl With Green Eyes (feat Billy Strings) – Lowdown Hoedown – Fiddleman Records

The Travelin’ McCourys – Crowhop – The Travelin’ McCourys – McCoury Music

Sturgill Simpson – Life Ain’t Fair and the World Is Mean – Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain (Thirty Tigers)

The Foreign Landers – Garden – Travelers Rest – The Foreign Landers

Cicada Rhythm – In the Garden – Cicada Rhythm – Normaltown Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 67 stations nationally.

Supported By