Folk Alley Radio Show #220908

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Trampled By Turtles, Amy Ray, Valerie June, Damn Tall Buildings, and The Dropkick Murphys; a new, classic live recording from Kris Kristofferson; plus favorites from John Craigie, Sarah Jarosz, Chris Thile, The Little Willies, Good Morning Bedlam, and more.

In hour two, we share some Steep Canyon Rangers news; plus new music from Plains, The A’s, and Jake Blount; plus favorites from Adia Victoria, Tré Burt, Jayme Stone, The Weepies, and much more.


Hour One:

Trampled By Turtles – Burlesque Desert Window – Alpenglow – BanjoDad Records/Thirty Tigers

Rhiannon Giddens – Niwel Goes to Town (with Francesco Turrisi) – They’re Calling Me Home – Nonesuch

John Craigie – Nomads – Asterisk the Universe – Zabriskie Point Records/Thirty Tigers

Amy Ray – A Mighty Thing (feat Sarah Jarosz) – If It All Goes South – Daemon Records

Sarah Jarosz – Song Up In Her Head – Song Up In Her Head – Sugar Hill

Kris Kristofferson – The Pilgrim (live) – Live at Gilley’s – Pasadena, TX: September 15th, 1981 – New West Records

The Little Willies – For the Good Times – For the Good Times – Milking Bull

Valerie June – Look at Miss Ohio – Under Cover [EP] – June Tunes/Fantasy Records

Chris Thile – Wayside (Back In Time) – How To Grow A Woman From The Ground – Sugar Hill

Hard Working Americans – Wrecking Ball – Hard Working Americans – Melvin Records/Thirty Tigers

Damn Tall Buildings – Sleeping Dogs – Sleeping Dogs – Damn Tall Buildings

James Hill – Skipping Stone – A Flying Leap – Borealis

Good Morning Bedlam – Blue House – Lulu – Bedlam Records

The Dropkick Murphys – Two 6’s Upside Down – This Machine Still Kills Fascists – Dummy Luck Music

Woody Guthrie – Tear the Fascists Down – My Dusty Road [Box Set] – Rounder Records

Hour Two:

Aaron Burdett – Rockefeller – Dream Rich, Dirt Poor – Organic Records

Steep Canyon Rangers – Call the Captain – Lovin’ Pretty Women – Rebel

Plains – Problem With It – I Walked With You A Ways – Anti

Adia Victoria – Magnolia Blues – A Southern Gothic – Canvasback

Tré Burt – Dixie Red – You, Yeah, You – Oh Boy Records

The A’s – Swing and Turn Jubilee – Fruit – Psychic Hotline

Mountain Man – Rang Tang Ring Toon – Magic Ship – Nonesuch

Jake Blount – Once There Was No Sun – The New Faith – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Bessie Jones & the Georgia Sea Island Singers – Before This Time Another Year (live) – Friends of Old Time Music: The Folk Arrival 1961-1965 – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Spell Songs – Jay (feat. Seckou Keita) – Spell Songs II: Let The Light In – Quercus Records

The Fretless – Trip To The Market – Waterbound – The Fretless

Jayme Stone – Earthlight – Awake – Jayme Stone

Billy Strings – Red Daisy – Renewal – Rounder

The Weepies – Sunflower – Sirens – Nettwerk


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By