Folk Alley Radio Show #220707

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See to celebrate Woody and Arlo Guthrie’s July birthdays; new music by Anna Tivel, Joan Shelley, Peter Mulvey & SistaStrings, and The Brother Brothers cover of a James Taylor classic; plus, we’ll hear more favorites from Jeffrey Martin, John Gorka, and Chris Smither.

In hour two, more new releases from The Early Mays, Hackensaw Boys, Kyshona, Peter Rowan, Nora Brown, Leon Timbo, and Courtney Marie Andrews; plus favorites from Dolly Parton, Norman Blake, Sam Bush, The Horse Flies, The Small Glories, and much more.


Hour One

Leftover Salmon – Woody Guthrie – Leftover Salmon – Compendia

Secret Sisters (comp) – Dust Cain’t Kill Me – Home In This World – Woody Guthrie’s Dustbowl – Ballads Elektra

Woody Guthrie – Pretty Boy Floyd – My Dusty Road – Rounder Records

Arlo Guthrie – Presidential Rag – Arlo Guthrie (1974) – Reprise/Rising Son

Arlo Guthrie – Nostalgia Rag – Arlo Guthrie (1974) – Reprise/Rising Son

Anna Tivel – Black Umbrella – Outsiders – Mama Bird Recording Co.

Jeffrey Martin – What We’re Marching Toward – One Go Around – Fluff & Gravy

Joan Shelley – Like The Thunder – The Spur – No Quarter

John Gorka – Dogs & Thunder – Old Future’s Gone – Red House

Peter Mulvey & SistaStrings – You and (Everybody Else) – Love Is The Only Thing – Righteous Babe Records

The Fretless – Lulu – The Fretless – The Fretless

Chris Smither – Sittin’ On Top of the World – Call Me Lucky – Signature Sounds

The Brother Brothers – You Can Close Your Eyes (feat. Sarah Jarosz) – Cover To Cover – Compass

James Taylor – You’ve Got A Friend – Mud Slide Slim – Warner Brothers

Hour Two

The Early Mays – On a Dying Day – Prettiest Blue [EP] – The Early Mays

The Horse Flies – Warmth of Your Love – Where the Rivers Flow North (soundtrack) – Alcazar

Red Tail Ring – Body Like A Bell – The Heart’s Swift Foot – Earthwork Music

Hackensaw Boys – Only On The Brightside – Hackensaw Boys – Hackensaw Boys

The Small Glories + Darling West – Bright New World – [single] – Red House Records

Kyshona – Rise the Tide – [single] – Tone Tree Music/Kyshona Armstrong

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon – Fly With Me (feat. Sharde Thomas) – Solstice – New West Records

Peter Rowan – Little Joe – Calling You From My Mountain – Rebel Records

Norman Blake – Ginseng Sullivan – Back Home in Sulphur Springs – Rounder

Sam Bush – I Just Want To Feel Something – Storyman – Sugar Hill

Nora Brown – Little Satchel – Long Time To Be Gone – Jalopy Records

Dolly Parton – Little Sparrow – Little Sparrow – Sugar Hill

Courtney Marie Andrews – Satellite – Loose Future – Fat Possum Records

Leon Timbo – Galaxy – Lovers and Fools, Vol. 2 – MNRK Records

Drew and Ellie Holcomb – Hung the Moon – Coming Home – Magnolia Music


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By