Folk Alley Radio Show #220421

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See for songs to celebrate Mother Earth from Tom Rush, Baka Beyond, and Neko Case; new music from Tami Neilson, Willie Nelson, Abigail Lapell, Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves, and Old Crow Medicine Show; we remember Pastelle LeBlanc of Vishten; plus favorites from Dave Alvin, Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert, and Rose Cousins.

In hour two, new music from Canadian duos, Pharis & Jason Romero and Mama’s Broke, Arlo McKinley, The Honey Dewdrops, and Peter Rowan; plus favorites from First Aid Kit, Jeffrey Martin, Guy Clark, Loudon Wainwright III, Rainbow Girls, John Prine, Spell Songs featuring Karine Polwart, and more.


Hour One

Tom Rush – Mother Earth – The Very Best of Tom Rush – Columbia

Baka Beyond – Spirit of the Forest – Spirit of the Forest – Hannibal

Neko Case – Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth – Middle Cyclone – ANTI-

Willie Nelson – I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die – A Beautiful Time – Legacy Recordings

Tami Neilson – Beyond the Stars (feat. Willie Nelson) – Kingmaker – Outside Music

Abigail Lapell – All Dressed Up – Stolen Time – Outside Music

Dave Gunning – Ferris Wheel – Up Against the Sky – Wee House of Music

Vishten – Terre Rouge – Terre Rouge – Plages Distribution

Rose Cousins – The Agreement – Bravado – Outside Music

Harry Manx – Sittin’ On Top Of The World – West Eats Meet – Dog My Cat

Old Crow Medicine Show – Gloryland – Paint This Town – ATO

Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves – Nancy Blevins – Hurricane Clarice – Free Dirt

Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert – Uncle Bill – The Flowers That Bloom in Spring – Dead Reckoning

Dave Alvin – What Did the Deep Sea Say? – Public Domain – Hightone

Dave Alvin – Walk Right In – Public Domain – Hightone

Hour Two:

Pharis & Jason Romero – Souvenir – Tell ‘Em You Were Gold – Smithsonian Folkways

First Aid Kit – Stay Gold – Stay Gold – Columbia Records

Jeffrey Martin – Golden Thread – One Go Around – Fluff & Gravy

Guy Clark – My Favorite Picture of You – My Favorite Picture Of You – Dualtone

Loudon Wainwright III – The Picture (live) – So Damm Happy (LIVE) – Sanctuary

Mama’s Broke – Narrow Line – Narrow Line – Free Dirt

Rainbow Girls – Free Wine – Rolling Dumpster Fire EP – Rainbow Girls

Arlo McKinley – Stealing Dark From the Night Sky – This Mess We’re In – Oh Boy

John Prine – Taking A Walk – Fair & Square – Oh Boy

The Honey Dewdrops – Holy Hymn – Light Behind Light – The Honey Dewdrops

Spell Songs – Thrift (Dig In, Dig In) (feat. Karine Polwart) – Spell Songs II: Let The Light In – Quercus Records

Peter Rowan – The Song That Made Hank Williams Dance (feat. Shawn Camp) – Calling You From My Mountain – Rebel Records

Hank Williams – Mind Your Own Business – 40 Greatest Hits – Polydor


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By