Folk Alley Radio Show #220331

This week on Folk Alley, hear new music from John Craigie, the Freakons, Abbie Gardner, Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway, Mary Gauthier, Miko Marks, and Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves; a previously unreleased “alternate track” from Karen Dalton’s classic album, ‘In My Own Time’ in honor of the album’s 50th anniversary reissue; and a very special – just released – collaboration between the late Levon Helm and Mavis Staples. All this, plus we remember the great John Prine on the second anniversary of his passing, and we celebrate Emmylou Harris’ milestone birthday!


Hour One

Emmylou Harris – Deeper Well – Wrecking Ball – Elektra

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell – Invitation to the Blues – Old Yellow Moon – Nonesuch

Trio (Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, Emmylou Harris) – My Dear Companion – Trio – Warner Brothers

Jason Isbell – Souvenirs – Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, Vol. 2 [comp] – Oh Boy Records

Iris DeMent – One Red Rose – Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, Vol. 2 [comp] – Oh Boy Records

Freakons – Blackleg Miner – Freakons – Fluff & Gravy

Offa Rex – The Gardner – The Queen of Hearts – Nonesuch

Mavis Staples and Levon Helm – You’ve Got To Move – Carry Me Home – ANTI

Amy Helm & the Handsome Strangers (in-studio) – Deep Water – Folk Alley Sessions in-studio recording – Folk Alley exclusive recording

John Craigie – Helena – Mermaid Salt – John Craigie

Mandolin Orange – Wildfire – Blindfaller – Yep Roc Records

Karen Dalton – Something on Your Mind (Alternative Take) – In My Own Time (50th Anniversary Edition) – Light in the Attic

Fred Neil – Travelin’ Shoes – 38 MacDougal – Delmore Recording Society

Tim Hardin – Reason To Believe – Tim Hardin 1 – Verve Forecast

Hour Two:

Abbie Gardner – Born in the City – DobroSinger – Abbie Gardner

Parsonsfield – Light of the City – WE – Signature Sounds

Caroline Spence – Song About A City – Mint Condition – Rounder Records/Concord Music

Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway – Dooley’s Farm (feat. Billy Strings) – Crooked Tree – Nonesuch

Billy Strings – Know It All – Renewal – Rounder

John Smith (Johnsmith) – Backroads – Backroads – Blue Pine

Peter Mulvey – Trempealeau – Silver Ladder – Signature Sounds

Mary Gauthier – Amsterdam – Dark Enough To See the Stars – Thirty Tigers

Darrell Scott – It’s a Great Day To Be Alive – Aloha from Nashville – Sugar Hill

Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves – The Banks of the Miramichi – Hurricane Clarice – Free Dirt

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Kerr’s Negro Jig – Leaving Eden – Nonesuch Records

Jake Xerxes Fussell – Breast of Glass – Good and Green Again – Paradise of Bachelors

Miko Marks – Feel Like Going Home – [single] – Redtone Records

Tedeschi Trucks Band – Hear Me – Let Me Get By – Fantasy/Concord Music Group


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By