Folk Alley Radio Show #220120

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music by Keb’ Mo’, Drew & Ellie Holcomb, Eric Brace and Last Train Home, Maya de Vitry, Aoife O’Donovan, and Jake Xerxes Fussell; classics from John Hartford and Townes Van Zandt; plus favorites from Mandolin Orange (now Watchhouse), Hawktail, Rosanne Cash, Mipso, and more.

In hour two, it’s more new music by Punch Brothers, The Whitmore Sisters, Spell Songs featuring Seckou Keita, and Amanda Anne Platt & the Honeycutters; plus more favorites from Joy Oladokun, Lula Wiles, Tré Burt, Boubacar Traoré; and a classic from James Taylor.


Hour One:

Artist – Title – Album – Label

Keb’ Mo’ – Lean On Me – Good To Be… – Rounder Records

Bill Withers – Sweet Wanomi – Just As I Am – Sussex

Drew and Ellie Holcomb – Hung the Moon – Coming Home – Magnolia Music

Hawktail – The Tobogganist – Formations – Padiddle Records

Mandolin Orange (now Watchhouse) – Gospel Shoes- Blindfaller – Yep Roc Records

Eric Brace and Last Train Home – The Six O’Clock Train and a Girl With Green Eyes – Everything Will Be – Red Beet Records

Yonder Mountain String Band (compliation) – Holding – On The Road: A Tribute To John Hartford – LoHi Records

John Hartford – Medicine Chest – No End Of Love – Small Dog

Maya de Vitry – How Bad I Wanna Live – Violet Light – Mad Maker Studio

Townes Van Zandt – To Live Is To Fly – Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972 – Omnivore Records

Aoife O’Donovan – Sister Starling – Age of Apathy – YepRoc

Sharon Shannon – Rathlin Island – Each Little Thing – Green Linnet

Rosanne Cash – A Feather’s Not A Bird – The River & The Thread – Blue Note Records

Mipso – Servant To It – Edges Run – AntiFragile Music

Jake Xerxes Fussell – Love Farewell – Good and Green Again – Paradise of Bachelors

Hour Two

Joy Oladokun – Bigger Man (feat. Maren Morris) – in defense of my own happiness – Amigo Records

Lula Wiles – Shaking As It Turns – What Will We Do – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Tré Burt – Sweet Misery – You, Yeah, You – Oh Boy Records

Spell Songs – Jay (feat. Seckou Keita) – Spell Songs II: Let the Light In – Quercus Records

Boubacar Traoré – Badialo – Dounia Tabolo – Lusafrica

Punch Brothers – Streets of London – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

Punch Brothers – One More Night – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

Steep Canyon Rangers – Sunny Days – Arm In Arm – Yep Roc

Jake Shimabukuro – A Place In the Sun (feat. Jack Johnson and Paula Fuga) – Jake & Friends – Music Theories

James Taylor – Sunny Skies – Sweet Baby James – Warner Bro

Amanda Anne Platt and The Honeycutters – Perfect World – The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea – Organic Records

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Quattro (World Drifts In) – Raise the Roof – Rounder Records

The Whitmore Sisters – Learn To Fly – Ghost Stories – Compass Records

Secret Sisters (comp) – Dust Cain’t Kill Me – Home In This World – Woody Guthrie’s Dustbowl Ballads – Elektra


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By