Folk Alley Radio Show #220106

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See to welcome in a fresh new year with some fresh new music. Hear the latest from Eliza Gilkyson, Drew & Ellie Holcomb, Aoife O’Donovan, Jake Xerxes Fussell, Punch Brothers, and Jamestown Revival; plus favorites from The Decemberists, Bill Morrissey, The War and Treaty, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, and Mavis Staples.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Spell Songs, Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Leyla McCalla, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, Rakish, and The Pine Hearts; plus favorites from David Francey, Solas, Foghorn Stringband, and much more.


Hour One:

The Decemberists – January Hymn – The King Is Dead – Capitol

Allison de Groot and Tatiana Hargreaves – Eighth of January – Allison de Groot and Tatiana Hargreaves – Free Dirt

Bill Morrissey – Birches – Night Train – Philo

Eliza Gilkyson – The Hill Behind This Town – Songs From the River Wind – Howlin’ Dog Records

Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley – Little Cabin Home on the Hill – Before the Sun Goes Down – Compass Records

Drew & Ellie Holcomb – Coming Home – Coming Home: A Collection of Songs – Magnolia Music

The War and Treaty – Here Is Where the Loving Is At – Healing Tide – Strong World Entertainment/Thirty Tigers

Aoife O’Donovan – B61 – Age of Apathy – YepRoc

Birds of Chicago – Estrella Goodbye – Real Midnight – Five Head Entertainment

Ramblin’ Jack Elliott – Richland Women Blues – A Stranger Here – Anti

Jake Xerxes Fussell – Breast of Glass – Good and Green Again – Paradise of Bachelors

Billy Strings – Running the Route – Renewal – Rounder

Punch Brothers – Church Street Blues – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

Mavis Staples – Love and Trust – Livin’ On A High Note – Anti

Jamestown Revival – Working On Love – Young Man – Jamestown Revival Recordings/Thirty

Hour Two:

Spell Songs – Bird of the Blizzard (feat. Julie Fowlis) – Spell Songs II: Let The Light In – Quercus Records

David Surette – Cold Rain – Sun Dog – Madrina Music

David Francey – Wind In the Wires – Torn Screen Door – Laker Music

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – The Price of Love – Raise the Roof – Rounder Records

The Secret Sisters – Lonely Island – Put Your Needle Down – Universal Republic

Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Song of the Season – Barn – Reprise Records

Shovels & Rope – Unknown Legend (feat. Shakey Graves) – Busted Jukebox, Volume 1 – Dualtone Music

Leyla McCalla – Fort Dimanche – [single] – Anti

Leyla McCalla – Lavi Vye Neg – The Capitalist Blues – Pias America

Rakish – Counting Down the Hours – Counting Down The Hours – Rakish

Seamus Egan – 6 Then 5 – Early Bright – THL Records

Solas – Pastures of Plenty – The Words That Remain – Shanachie

The Pine Hearts – Wouldn’t You Know – Lost Love Songs – The Pine Hearts

The Foghorn Stringband – 90 Miles An Hour – Devil In the Seat – Foghorn Music


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By