Folk Alley Radio Show #211230

This week on Folk Alley, we dig into folk music by artists from the great state on Maine. You’ll hear from Patty Griffin, Slaid Cleaves, Ellis Paul, Lula Wiles, Gordon Bok, David Mallett, and we’ll remember the great David Surette. In hour two, it’s new music for a new year from Eliza Gilkyson, Jamestown Revival, Aoife O’Donovan, Punch Brothers, Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway, Cactus Blossoms, and Anais Mitchell; plus faves from Tim O’Brien, Daniel Rodriguez, Tony Rice, and much more!


Hour One:

Susie Burke & David Surette – April with the Flying Bow – Waiting for the Sun – Madrina Music

David Surette – Angeline the Baker – Northern Roots – Madrina Music

Bill Staines – January Snow – The First Million Miles Vol. 2 – Rounder

Gordon Bok – The Hills of Isle Au Haut – A Tune for November – Folk Legacy

Lissa Schneckenburger – The Fair Maid by the Sea Shore – Song – Footprint

Patty Griffin – Useless Desires – Impossible Dream – ATO/BMG

Heather Masse – Bird Song – Bird Song – Red House Records

Slaid Cleaves – One Good Year – Broke Down – Philo

Rod Picott – Welding Burns – Welding Burns – Welding Rod Music

Harvey Reid & Joyce Andersen – Moonshiner’s Blues – The Great Sad River – Woodpecker

Ellis Paul (in studio) – Rose Tattoo – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley exclusive recordings

Lula Wiles – The Pain of Loving You – What Will We Do – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

The Mallett Brothers Band – The Logger’s Boast (feat. David Mallett) – The Falling of the Pine – The Mallett Brothers Band

David Mallett – Garden Song – Inches And Miles, 1977-1980 – FlyingFish

Hour Two:

Eliza Gilkyson – Wanderin’ – Songs From the River Wind – Howlin’ Dog Records

Bruce Molsky – Wandering Boy – Soon Be Time – Compass

Tim O’Brien – Restless Spirit Wandering – Traveler – Sugar Hill

Jamestown Revival – These Days – Young Man – Jamestown Revival Recordings/Thirty Tigers

Daniel Rodriguez – Sojourn of a Burning Sun – Sojourn of a Burning Sun – Renew Records

Aoife O’Donovan – Prodigal Daughter (feat. Allison Russell) – Age of Apathy – YepRoc

Aoife O’Donovan – Transatlantic (feat. Kris Drever) – [single] – YepRoc

Punch Brothers – Orphan Annie – Hell On Church Street – Nonesuch Records

Tony Rice – Streets of London – Church Street Blues – Sugar Hill

Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway – She’ll Change – [single] – Nonesuch

Billy Strings – Heartbeat of America – Renewal – Rounder

The Cactus Blossoms – Hey Baby – One Day – Walkie Talkie Records

Anais Mitchell – Bright Star – Anais Mitchell – BMG

Bonny Light Horseman – Bright Morning Stars – Bonny Light Horseman – 37d03d


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 65 stations nationally.

Supported By