Folk Alley Radio Show #211104

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See to celebrate the life and music of the legendary songwriter, folksinger, and country artist, Guy Clark on what would’ve been his 80th birthday on November 6. Hear classic Guy Clark songs performed by the man himself, plus covers from Lyle Lovett, Emmylou Harris w/ John Prine, Steve Earle, Darrell Scott, Shawn Camp, Willie Nelson, and more.

In hour two, it’s new music by Hayes Carll, George Jackson, Anjimile, Glenn Echo, Buffalo Nichols, Emily Scott Robinson, and Anais Mitchell from her forthcoming self-titled 2022 release; plus favorites from Bonnie Raitt, Leo Kottke, and much more.


Hour One:

Guy Clark – L.A. Freeway – Old No. 1 – BMG

Guy Clark – Homegrown Tomatoes (live) – Songs and Stories – Dualtone

Nanci Griffith – Do Re Me (w/ Guy Clark) – Other Voices Other Rooms – Elektra

Lyle Lovett – Step Inside This House – Step Inside This House – MCA

Willie Nelson (compilation) – Desperadoes Waiting For A Train – This One’s for Him: A Tribute To Guy Clark – Icehouse Music

Emmylou Harris & John Prine (compilation) – Magnolia Wind – This One’s for Him: A Tribute To Guy Clark – Icehouse Music

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Sis Draper – Guy – New West

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Dublin Blues – Guy – New West

Darrell Scott – Out In the Parking Lot – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Shawn Camp – Soldiers Joy 1864 – Live at the Station Inn – Oh Boy Records

Townes Van Zandt – Pancho and Lefty (live) – Rear View Mirror – Sugar Hill

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Old Friends – Guy – New West

Hour Two:

Anais Mitchell – Bright Star – Anais Mitchell – BMG

Neko Case, kd lang and Laura Veirs – Georgia Stars – case/lang/veirs – Anti/Epitaph

Hayes Carll – Nice Things – You Get It All – Dualtone

George Jackson – Mississippi Sawyer – Hair + Hide – George Jackson

Donna The Buffalo – No Place Like the Right Time – Positive Friction – Sugar Hill

Anjimile – Ever New – [single] – Psychic Hotline

Bonnie Raitt – Hear Me Lord – Silver Lining – Capitol

Glenn Echo – Moon Seems Lost – Fixed Memory – Glenn Echo

Laura Cortese & The Dance Cards – Stockholm – California Calling – Compass Records

Buffalo Nichols – Sorry It Was You – Buffalo Nichols – Fat Possum Records

Leo Kottke – Little Martha – A Shout Toward Noon – Private Music

Miko Marks & the Resurrectors – Travel Light – Our Country – Redtone Records

Emily Scott Robinson – Cheap Seats – American Siren – Oh Boy Records

Margo Price – Sweet Revenge – Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, Vol. 2 [comp] – Oh Boy Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By