Folk Alley Radio Show #211028

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Hayes Carll, Jordan Tice, Margo Cilker, and the great Norman Blake, from his new album, ‘Day By Day’; a couple sneak peeks of forthcoming January, 2022 releases from Eliza Gilkyson and The Infamous Stringdusters; plus classics from Kate Wolf, Eva Cassidy, and more.

In hour two, it’s more new music from The McDades, John Wort Hannam, Kaia Kater, The Fretless. featuring Taylor Ashton, Jack White, Maya de Vitry, and Shannon Lay; Jason Isbell covers a John Prine classic; plus favorites from Steve Dawson, Pharis & Jason Romaro, Robby Hecht, and more.


Hour One:

Eliza Gilkyson – At the Foot of the Mountain – Songs From the River Wind – Howlin’ Dog Records

Sam Bush – Blue Mountain – Circles Around Me – Sugar Hill

Calexico and Iron & Wine – Father Mountain – Years to Burn – Sub Pop

Rachel Garlin – Seashells – The State That We Are In – Rachel Garlin

Kate Wolf & the Wildwood Flower – I Don’t Know Why – Lines On the Paper – Rhino Records

Hayes Carll – You Get It All – You Get It All – Dualtone

Hayes Carll – Help Me Remember – You Get It All – Dualtone

The Infamous Stringdusters – Toward the Fray – Toward the Fray – Americana Vibes

Ana Egge – This Time – [single] – StorySounds

Mavis Staples – Fight – Your Good Fortune (EP) – ANTI

Ben Winship – I’ll Live On – Acorns – Snake River

Jordan Tice – Cats and Kitties – Yesteryears [EP] – Padiddle Records

Norman Blake – I’m Free Again – Day by Day – Smithsonian Folkways

Margo Cilker – Barbed Wire (Belly Crawl) – Pohorylle – Fluff and Gravy Records

Eva Cassidy – Autumn Leaves – Songbird – Blix Street

Hour Two:

The McDades – Willie Reilly – [single] – Free Radio Records

The Chieftains – The Lowlands of Holland (feat. Natalie Merchant) – Tears of Stone – RCA

John Wort Hannam – Wonderful Things – In It For The Long Haul – Black Hen Music

Steve Dawson – Hale Road Revelation – Lucky Hand – Black Hen Music

Pharis & Jason Romero – Hometown Blues – Bet On Love – Lula Records

Kaia Kater – Parallels – [single] – acronym Records

Iron & Wine – Naked As We Came – Our Endless Numbered Days – Sub Pop

Annabelle Chvostek – D’être humain (To Be Human) – String of Pearls – Annabelle Chvostek

The Fretless – Alaska (feat. Taylor Ashton) – Open House – Open House

Robby Hecht – The Ends and the Means (Orchestral Version) – [single] – Old Man Henry Records

Jack White – Taking Me Back (Gently) – [single] – Third Man Records

Tommy Emmanuel – El Vaquero – It’s Never Too Late – CGP Sounds / Thirty Tigers

Jason Isbell – Souvenirs – Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, Vol. 2 [comp] – Oh Boy Records

Maya de Vitry – Not a Trick of the Eye – Violet Light – Mad Maker Studio

Shannon Lay – Awaken and Allow – Geist – Subpop


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By