Folk Alley Radio Show #211014

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See for new music from Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit, Shannon Lay, Noah Gundersen, Billy Strings, and Iris DeMent – from the new ‘Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows, Vol. 2’ tribute compilation honoring the late, great John Prine; some song for the season from Tom Waits and Deep Dark Woods; favorites from Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley, Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop, and Fleet Foxes.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Madi Diaz, Valerie Smith, Balsam Range, Leon Timbo, Zoe & Cloyd, Brad Kolodner; plus a look back at some of our favorites from 2011; and much more!


Hour One:

Tom Waits – Last Leaf – Bad As Me – Anti

The Deep Dark Woods – Fallen Leaves – Yarrow – Six Shooter Records

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Midnight Train to Georgia (feat. Brittney Spencer & John Paul White) – Georgia Blue – Southeastern Records

Dom Flemons – Georgia Drumbeat – Prospect Hill – Music Maker Relief Foundation

Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley – Georgia On A Fast Train – Before the Sun Goes Down – Compass

Shannon Lay – A Thread to Find – Geist – Sub Pop

Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop – Every Songbird Says – Love Letter for Fire – Sub Pop

Noah Gundersen – Sleepless In Seattle – A Pillar of Salt – Cooking Vinyl

Cahalen Morrison & Eli West – Stone to Sand – Our Lady of the Tall Trees – Cahalen Morrison & Eli West

Fleet Foxes – Blue Spotted Tail – Helplessness Blues – Sub Pop

Billy Strings – Red Daisy – Renewal – Rounder

Andrew Marlin – The Jaybird – Fable & Fire – Tanyard Branch Music (Thirty Tigers)

Sunny War – Losing Hand – Simple Syrup – Hen House

David Huckfelt – Gamblers Dharma – Room Enough, Time Enough – Gamblers Dharma Records

Iris DeMent – One Red Rose – Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, Vol. 2 [comp] – Oh Boy Records

Hour Two:

Madi Diaz – New Person, Old Place – History of a Feeling – Epitaph

Yasmin Williams – Through The Woods – Urban Driftwood – Spinster Sounds

Nick Drake – Tow The Line – Made to Love Magic – Island

Valerie Smith – Heartbreak Hill – Renaissance – Bell Buckle Records

Balsam Range – Santa Barbara – Moxie and Mettle – Mountain Home Music Company

The Milk Carton Kids – One Goodbye – Prologue – The Milk Carton Kids

David Wax Museum – Yes, Maria, Yes – Everything Is Saved – David Wax Museum

Gillian Welch – Silver Dagger – The Harrow & The Harvest – Acony

Leon Timbo – Love’s Not Supposed To Hurt – Lovers and Fools – Entertainment One US LP

Amos Lee – Stay With Me – Mission Bell – Blue Note

Zoe & Cloyd – Paper Crowns – Rebuild – Organic Records

Brad Kolodner – Chimney Swifts – Chimney Swifts – Brad Kolodner

Richie & Rosie – Cold Mountain – Nowhere In Time – Richie & Rosie

Anna Tivel – Last Cigarette – Small Believer – Fluff & Gravy Records

The Brother Brothers – The Road Runner Song – Calla Lily – Compass Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By