Folk Alley Radio Show #210923

This week on Folk Alley, we welcome in the being of fall, with songs by Trapezoid, Putnam Smith, and Gordon Bok all inspired by the best part of the season – apples. New music by Ana Egge, Charley Crockett, The Way Down Wanderers, George Jackson with Jake Blount, and Alisa Amador; plus favorites from Darlingside, The Lowest Pair, Cahalen Morrison, and Sam Bush.

In hour two, more new music by Martin Sexton, Aoife O’Donovan, Jon Randall, and a previously unreleased track by Joni Mitchell that was recorded 50 years ago; favorites from Levon Helm, Richard & Linda Thompson, Daniel Rodriguez, Bonnie Raitt, Cinder Well, and more!


Hour One:

Trapezoid – Do You Love an Apple? – Now & Then – FlyingFish

Putnam Smith – I Dream of Apple Orchards – We Could Be Beekeepers – Itchy Sabot Records

Gordon Bok – Apples In The Basket – Apples In The Basket – Timberhead

Ana Egge – Wait A Minute – Between Us – StorySounds

Darlingside – Time Will Be – Fish Pond Fish – More Doug Records/Thirty Tigers

Charley Crockett – Round This World – Music City USA – Son of Davy

Otis Gibbs – Great American Roadside – Mount Renraw – Wanamaker Recording Company

The Lowest Pair – Too Late Babe – The Perfect Plan – Delicata Records (Thirty Tigers)

Cahalen Morrison – Those Mighty Beasts of Holm – Wealth of Sorrow – Cahalen Morrison

The Way Down Wanderers – Everything’s Made Out of Sand – More Like Tomorrow – The Way Down Wanderers

George Jackson – Town’s End (feat. Jake Blount) – Hair & Hide – Free Dirt

Sam Bush – Play By Your Own Rules – Storyman – Sugar Hill

Alisa Amador – Together – Narratives – Alisa Amador

The Wood Brothers – Seasick Emotions – One Drop of Truth – Honey Jar Records/Thirty Tigers

Hour Two:

Levon Helm – Feelin’ Good – Dirt Farmer – Vanguard

Amy Helm – Are We Running Out of Love? – What the Flood Leaves Behind – Renew Records

Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams – Everybody Loves You – Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams – Red House Records

Martin Sexton – Riding Through the Rain – 2020 Vision – KTR

Beth Orton – Oooh Child – The Other Side of Daybreak – Astralwerks

Richard and Linda Thompson – I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight – I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight – Island

Daniel Rodriguez – A Thousand Lights – Sojourn of a Burning Sun – Renew Records

Aoife O’Donovan – Phoenix – Age of Apathy – YepRoc

Sarah Jarosz – Blue Heron – Blue Heron Suite – Rounder Records

Sara Watkins – Blue Shadows on the Trail (feat. Nickel Creek) – Under the Pepper Tree – New West Records

Jon Randall – The Road – Jon Randall – Lonesome Vinyl

Bonnie Raitt – Big Road – Bonnie Raitt – Warner Bro

Joni Mitchell – Hunter – Blue 50 (Demos & Outtakes) [EP] – Rhino/Reprise Records

Cinder Well – The Cuckoo – No Summer – Free Dirt


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by music director Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By