Folk Alley Radio Show #210624

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Joni Mitchell’s album ‘Blue’, plus a newly remastered version of one of her earliest songs; new music from Martin Sexton, John Reischman, the Small Glories + Darling West, Sunny War, Bill & the Belles, and Amy Helm; classics from John Prine and New Grass Revival; and more.

In hour two, hear more new releases from Steep Canyon Rangers, Them Coulee Boys, Amanda Anne Platte & the Honeycutters, Joan Shelley & Nathan Salsburg, Anna Tivel, Watchhouse, Bowerbirds, Hiss Golden Messenger, and much more!


Hour One:

Joni Mitchell – All I Want – Blue – Reprise

Joni Mitchell – Cactus Tree (remastered) – The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) – Reprise

John Prine – Spanish Pipedream – John Prine – Atlantic

John Reischman – Cascadia – New Time & Old Acoustic – John Reischman

Bill and the Belles – Happy Again (I’ll Never Be) – Happy Again – Ditty Boom Records

Martin Sexton – Hold On – 2020 Vision – Kitchen Table

New Grass Revival – Hold to a Dream – Hold to a Dream – Capitol

Sunny War – A Love So True – Simple Syrup – Hen House

Darlingside – Birds Say – Birds Say – Thirty Tigers

Caitlin Canty – I Never – Reckless Skyline – Caitlin Canty

The Small Glories + Darling West – Bright New World – [single] – Red House Records

Wes Corbett – The Three Trees – Cascade – Padiddle Records

Amos Lee – No More Darkness, No More Light – My New Moon – Dualtone

Amy Helm – Are We Running Out of Love? – What the Flood Leaves Behind – Renew Records

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon – Like A Songbird That Has Fallen (feat. Amy Helm) – Solstice – New West Records

Hour Two:

Steep Canyon Rangers – It Ain’t Me – [single] – Yep Roc

The Steel Wheels – Nola’s First Dance – Lay Down – Lay Low

Them Coulee Boys – Given Up – Namesake – Them Coulee Boys

Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters – Burn – The Devil/The Deep Blue Sea – Organic

The Secret Sisters – Cabin – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival (2020) – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Joan Shelley and Nathan Salsburg – Watch What Happens – [single] – Drag City

Bonnie “Prince” Billy – You Don’t Love Me – Beware – Drag City

Anna Tivel – Two Dark Horses – Blue World – Fluff and Gravy

Maya de Vitry – Go Tell a Bird – Adaptations – Mad Maker Studio

David Wax Museum – Love Comes Around – Euphoric Ouroboric – Nine Mile Records

Watchhouse – Beautiful Flowers – Watchhouse – Tiptoe Tiger Music

We Banjo 3 – Sugar House – Haven – We Banjo 3

Bowerbirds – Moon Phase – becalmyounglovers – Psychic Hotline

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Dreamsicle – Reunions – Southeastern Records

Hiss Golden Messenger – Hardlytown – Quietly Blowing It – Merge Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By