Folk Alley Radio Show #210527

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for music to celebrate the best part of late spring – lilacs – with music by The Mammals, Solas, and the great Kate Wolf; new music by Lula Wiles, Oliver Wood, Jon Stickley Trio, Bill & the Belles, and Iowa’s Renaissance man Chad Elliott in a set featuring music influenced by fellow Iowan guitarist/producer, Bo Ramsey; plus, favorites by Ani DiFranco, Ditty Bops, Kacey Musgraves, Early Mays, and more.

In hour two, it’s more new music from Nefesh Mountain, The Brother Brothers, John Hiatt with the Jerry Douglas Band, Allison Russell, and Craig Cardiff; a set honoring the music of folk legend, Tom Paxton, including a new song by The Accidentals; plus favorites by Patty Griffin, Bryan Sutton, Emmylou Harris & Mark Knopfler, and more.


Hour One:

The Mammals – Lilac Breeze – Sunshiner – Humble Abode Music

Solas – Granny Quin’s/The Lilac Reel/Sporting Pat – The Hour Before Dawn – Shanachie

Kate Wolf & the Wildwood Flower – The Lilac & The Apple – Lines On the Paper – Rhino

Ani DiFranco – Simultaneously – Revolutionary Love – Righteous Babe

Ani DiFranco – Allergic To Water (in-studio) – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive Recording

Chad Elliott – Down and Out – Singing River – Chad Elliott

Dave Moore – Big Fool For You – Breaking Down To 3 – Red House

The Pines – Where Something Wild Still Grows – Above the Prairie – Red House

Lula Wiles – Wake Up – Shame and Sedition – Smithsonian Folkways

The Ditty Bops – Wake Up – The Ditty Bops – Warner Bros

Oliver Wood – Face of Reason – Always Smilin’ – Honey Jar Records

Jon Stickley Trio – In and About – [single] – Organic Records

Kacey Musgraves – Somebody To Love – Pageant Material – Mercury Nashville

Bill and the Belles – Taking Back My Yesterday – Happy Again – Bill and the Belles/Ditty Boom Records

The Early Mays – Say-O – Chase the Sun – Birds on the Wing Records

Hour Two:

Nefesh Mountain – Where Oh Where – Songs for the Sparrows – Nefesh Mountain

Usher’s Island – Five Drunken Landladies – Usher’s Island – Compass Records

Bryan Sutton – That’s Where I Belong – Into My Own – Sugar Hill

The Brother Brothers – The Road Runner Song – Calla Lily – Compass Records

Melissa Carper & Rebecca Patek – Coyotes Sing Tonight – Brand New Old-Time Songs – Melissa Carper & Rebecca Patek

The Accidentals – Anyway – Time Out Session 1 [EP] – The Accidentals

Mollie O’Brien & Rich Moore – Central Square – Love Runner – Remington Road Records

Tom Paxton – Gettin’ Up Early – Wearing the Time – Sugar Hill

John Hiatt with the Jerry Douglas Band – The Music is Hot – Leftover Feelings – New West

Sturgill Simpson – Life Ain’t Fair and the World Is Mean – Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain (Thirty Tigers)

Allison Russell – Nightflyer – Outside Child – Fantasy Records

Patty Griffin – Rain – 1000 Kisses – ATO

Craig Cardiff – All This Time Running – All This Time Running – True North Records

Mark Knopfler & Emmylou Harris – All The Roadrunning – All The Roadrunning – Warner Bros


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By