Folk Alley Radio Show #210218

This week on Folk Alley, new music from Annabelle Chvostek, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Rhiannon Giddens w/ Francesco Turrisi, Chris Pandolfi, and The Local Honeys; an international set courtesy of Smithsonian Folkways with music by Quetzal, No-No Boy, and Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn; a tribute to the late Chick Corea with music from Jake Shimabukuro; classics from Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard and Bob Dylan; and more.

In hour two, new music from Dave Alvin, Mark Erelli, The Brother Brothers, and Kris Delmhorst; from our Sessions archives, an in-studio performance by Peter Case; a classic from Memphis Minnie; favorites by Joy Oladokun, Bill Morrissey, John Prine, and more!

{{Audio is no longer available for this episode.}}


Hour One:

Emmylou Harris – Snowin’ on Raton – Songbird: Rare Tracks and Forgotten Gems – Rhino

Jake Shimabukuro – Spain – Gently Weeps – Hitchhike

Annabelle Chvostek – Belleville rendez-vous – String of Pearls – Annabelle Chvostek

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – The Times They Are A-Changin’ (feat. Rosanne Cash, Steve Earle, Jason Isbell, and The War And Treaty) – [single] – Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

Bob Dylan – Song To Woody – No Direction Home: The Soundtrack – Sony

Rhiannon Giddens – Calling Me Home (with Francesco Turrisi) – They’re Calling Me Home – Nonesuch Records

Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard – Cannonball Blues – Sing Me Back Home – The DC Tapes, 1965-1969 – Free Dirt

Quetzal – El Río (The River) – Puentes Sonoros – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

No-No Boy – Imperial Twist (feat. Robert Vifian) – 1975 – Smithsonian Folkways

Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn – Four Seasons Medley: Four Seasons / Dark Oceans Waltz – Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn – Smithsonian Folkways

Sturgill Simpson – Oh Sarah – Cuttin’ Grass (Vol. 2): The Cowboy Arms Sessions – High Top Mountain

Chris Pandolfi – The Silver Droplet – Trance Banjo – Americana Vibes

Leftover Salmon – Liza – Aquatic Hitchhiker – LoS Records

The Local Honeys – Dying To Make A Living – [single] – La Honda Records

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Devil Put the Coal in the Ground – Ghosts of West Virginia – New West

Hour Two:

Memphis Minnie – Me and My Chauffeur Blues – I Ain’t No Bad Girl – Portrait

Tami Neilson – Hey, Bus Driver! – Chickaboom! – Outside Music

Bill Morrissey – Car and Driver – Standing Eight – Rounder

Dave Alvin – On the Way Downtown – From an Old Guitar: Rare and Unreleased Recordings – Yep Roc Records

Peter Case (In-studio) – Underneath the Stars – Folk Alley Exclusive – In studio Session 11-8-12

Mark Erelli – Jackpot – Jackpot EP – Mark Erelli

Nikki Lane – Jackpot – Highway Queen – New West Records

The Brother Brothers – Sorrow – Calla Lily – Compass Records

Bela Fleck – When Joy Kills Sorrow – Tales From An Acoustic Planet Volume 2 – WarnerBros

John Prine – Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow) – Great Days: The John Prine Anthology – Rhino Records

Joy Oladokun – breathe again – in defense of my own happiness, vol. 1 – Republic Records, Verve

Tracy Chapman – Crossroads – Crossroads – Elektra

Kris Delmhorst – Light Breaks Through – Light Breaks Through [EP] – Kris Delmhorst

Kristin Andreassen – Sunny Above the Clouds – Gondolier – Yellowcar Music


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and host Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By