Folk Alley Radio Show #201203

This week on Folk Alley, it’s that time of year to look back on the “best of the best” of the year as Elena See shares her top 10 list of 2020 with music by Ondara, Steep Canyon Rangers, Gretchen Peters, Jake Blount, and more; plus we remember the late Hal Ketchum; and some “LaFavorite” friends pay tribute to the great Jimmy LaFave with new songs; and more.

In hour two, we’ll hear a new holiday tune from Grant-Lee Phillips; more new music by Mick Flannery and Anaïs Mitchell, Bonny Light Horseman, Anjimile, Swamp Dogg, Kelsey Waldon, and the Resistance Revival Chorus; plus faves Margo Price, Josh Ritter, Tom Waits, John Hiatt, and more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Hal Ketchum – Sweet Loreen – I’m the Troubadour – Music Road Records

Ben Harper – Paris – Winter Is For Lovers – ANTI

Sturgill Simpson – Long White Line – Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain (Thirty Tigers)

LaFavorites – Floating On A Song – [single] – Lafavorites

LaFavorites – Back Home Again – [single] – Lafavorites

Ondara – Mr. Landlord – Folk N’ Roll Vol 1: Tales of Isolation – Verve Forecast

Steep Canyon Rangers – Honey On My Tongue – Arm In Arm – Yep Roc

Kyshona Armstrong – We the People – Listen – Kyshona Armstrong/Tone Tree Music

Gretchen Peters – Wish I Was – The Night You Wrote That Song: The Songs of Mickey Newbury – Scarlet Letter Records

Doc Watson and Gaither Carlton – Corrina – Doc Watson and Gaither Carlton – Smithsonian Folkways

Jake Blount – Move, Daniel – Spider Tales – Free Dirt

Sierra Hull – 25 Trips – 25 Trips – Rounder Records

The Wood Brothers – Little Bit Sweet – Kingdom In My Mind – Honey Jar Records

S.G. Goodman – Space and Time – Old Time Feeling – Verve Forecast

Hour Two:

Grant-Lee Phillips – Winterglow – Yuletide – YepRoc

Brother Mule: Ben Winship & Brian Wicklund – Old Man Winter-Shadows on the Mount-Big Twang – Snake River

Josh Ritter – Wintertime (The Snow is Coming Down) – Acoustic Christmas (compilation) – Amazon Music

Mick Flannery & Anaïs Mitchell – Minnesota – [single] – Rosaleen Records

Bonny Light Horseman – Clementine – [single] – 37d03d

Anjimile – Not Another Word – Giver Taker – Anjimile

Twisted Pine – I Miss Talking – Twisted Pine – Signature Sounds

Swamp Dogg – Memories (with John Prine) – Sorry You Couldn’t Make It – Joyful Noise

Tom Waits – Old Shoes (And Picture Postcards) – Closing Time – Elektra

Margo Price – That’s How Rumors Get Started – That’s How Rumors Get Started – Loma Viista Recordings

John Hiatt – Cry Love (Live) – The Best Of Sessions At West 54th – Columbia/Legacy

Kelsey Waldon – Mississippi Goddam (feat. Kyshona Armstrong & Adia Victoria) – They’ll Never Keep Us Down – Oh Boy Records

Resistance Revival Chorus – Everybody Deserves To Be Free (feat. Deva Mahal) – This Joy – Righteous Babe Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By