Folk Alley Radio Show #201029

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See for a special remembrance of Jerry Jeff Walker; new music from Rosanne Cash, Ani DiFranco, Sturgill Simpson, Norah Jones & Mavis Staples, and Ben Harper; classics from Joni Mitchell and Lead Belly; plus, we share some news from Arlo Guthrie.

In hour two, it’s more new music from the Steep Canyon Rangers, William Prince, and Darlingside; exclusive Folk Alley recordings of The Stray Birds and Robinella & the CC Stringband; plus more from Jake La Botz, Dan Hicks & Hot Licks, Daniel Rodriguez, and much more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Jerry Jeff Walker – Morning Song to Sally – Driftin’ Way of Life – Vanguard

Jerry Jeff Walker – Sangria Wine – Viva Terlingua (Live) – MCA Nashville

Jerry Jeff Walker – Mr. Bojangles – Gypsy Songman – Ryko

Joni Mitchell – House of the Rising Sun – Joni Mitchell Archive Vol. 1 The Early Years (1963-1967) – Rhino Records

Lead Belly – Rock Island Line – Classic Folk Music – Smithsonian Folkways

Arlo Guthrie – Won’t Be Long – Arlo Guthrie (1974) – Reprise/Rising Son

Arlo Guthrie – Presidential Rag – Arlo Guthrie (1974) – Reprise/Rising Son

Sturgill Simpson – All the Pretty Colors – Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions) – High Top Mountain (Thirty Tigers)

Sierra Hull – Escape – 25 Trips – Rounder Records

Tim O’Brien – Go Down To the Water – Pompadour – Howdy Skies Records

Rosanne Cash with John Leventhal – Crawl Into the Promised Land – [single] – Blue Note

Ben Harper – Inland Empire – Winter Is For Lovers – ANTI

Ani DiFranco – Do or Die – [single] – Righteous Babe

Chris Smither – What I Do – More From the Levee – Signature Sounds

Norah Jones & Mavis Staples – I’ll Be Gone – Pick Me Up Off the Floor (Deluxe Edition) – Blue Note

Hour Two:

Jake La Botz – Hey Bigfoot – They’re Coming for Me – Hi-Styles

Dan Hicks & The Hot Licks – That Ain’t Right – Selected Shorts – Surfdog

Steep Canyon Rangers – Honey On My Tongue – Arm In Arm – Yep Roc

The Stray Birds (In-studio) – Wildflower Honey – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley exclusive recordings

Robinella & The CC Stringband – Honeybee – Live from Folk Alley: 37th Kent St. Folk Festival – Folk Alley exclusive recordings

William Prince – Gospel First Nation – Gospel First Nation – Glassnote Records

The Small Glories – Wondrous Traveler – Wondrous Traveler – The Small Glories

Daniel Rodriguez – Colorado – Sojourn of a Burning Sun – Renew Records

Steve Earle – Colorado Girl – Townes – New West Records

Mile Twelve – Rocky Island – Roll the Tapes All Night Long [EP] – Delores the Taurus Records

Bronwyn Keith-Hynes – Hendersonville Hop – Fiddler’s Pastime – Sugar Petunia Records

Anna & Elizabeth – Heap of Horses – Sun To Sun – Free Dirt Records

Darlingside – Crystal Caving – Fish Pond Fish – More Doug Records/Thirty Tigers

Patty Griffin – Cold As It Gets – Impossible Dream – ATO/BMG


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By