Folk Alley Radio Show #200903

This week on Folk Alley join Elena See for some songs for Labor Day by the Kronos Quartet, Hazel Dickens, and Utah Phillips; new music from The Avett Brothers, Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Jayme Stone, and Dirk Powell; plus favorites from The Secret Sisters, Greg Brown, and more.

In hour two, more great new music by Josh Ritter, Twisted Pine, Bella White, Molly Tuttle, Hayes Carll, The Mavericks, The Texicana Mamas, and Wood & Wire; plus favorites from Todd Snider, Jimmy LaFave, Gretchen Peters, and much more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}

Hour One:

Kronos Quartet – Which Side Are You On? (feat. Lee Knight) – Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet and Friends Celebrate Pete Seeger – Smithsonian Folkways

Hazel Dickens (compilation) – The Rebel Girl – Don’t Mourn-Organize!: Songs of Labor Songwriter Joe Hill – Smithsonian Folkways

Utah Phillips (compilation) – There Is Power In A Union – Don’t Mourn-Organize!: Songs of Labor Songwriter Joe Hill – Smithsonian Folkways

The Avett Brothers – Untitled #4 – The Third Gleam – Loma Vista

The Secret Sisters – Nowhere, Baby – Saturn Return – New West Records

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon – Eight Miles High – Noon – ATO

The Byrds – Cowgirl In The Sand – Byrds – Elektra

Mary Chapin Carpenter – Farther Along and Further In – The Dirt and the Stars – Lambent Light Records

Greg Brown – Two Little Feet – Further In – Red House Records

Jayme Stone – Mouth the Words – Awake – Jayme Stone

Harry Manx & Kevin Breit – Don’t Swim, Float – In Good We Trust – Stony Plain

The Haden Triplets – Wildwood Flower – The Haden Triplets – Trimeter Records

Dirk Powell – The Little Things (feat. Sara Watkins) – When I Wait For You – Compass Records

Bonny Light Horseman – 10,000 Miles – Bonny Light Horseman – 37d03d

Hour Two:

Josh Ritter – Time Is Wasting – See Here, I Have Built You A Mansion [EP] – Pytheas Records

Twisted Pine – Come Along Jody – Right Now – Signature Sounds

Rachel Garlin – Higher Ground – Mondegreens – Rachel Garlin

Bella White – The Hand of Your Raising – Just Like Leaving – Bella White

Todd Snider – Talking Reality Television Blues – Cash Cabin Sessions, Vol. 3 – Aimless Records

Molly Tuttle – Standing On the Moon – …but i’d rather be with you – Compass Records

Maya de Vitry – What the Moon Said – Adaptations – Mad Maker Studio

Hayes Carll – Bad Liver and A Broken Heart (Acoustic) – Alone Together Sessions – Dualtone

Jimmy Lafave – Shining On Through – Blue Nightfall – Red House Records

Gretchen Peters – When You Comin’ Home (feat. Jimmy Lafave) – Blackbirds – Scarlet Letter Records

The Mavericks – No Vale la Pena (It’s Not Really Worth It) – En Español – Mono Mundo/Thirty Tigers

Flaco & Max – Brincando Cercas (Jumping Fences) – Legends & Legacies – Smithsonian Folkways

The Texicana Mamas – Amigas de Corazon (Girlfriends of the Heart) – The Texicana Mamas – The Texicana Mamas

Wood & Wire – Can’t Keep Up – No Matter Where It Goes From Here – Blue Corn Music

Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters – Learning How To Love Him – Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters – Organic Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 60 stations nationally.

Supported By