Folk Alley Radio Show #200730

This week on Folk Alley, join Elena See for new music from Ben Harper & Rhiannon Giddens, Lori McKenna, Courtney Marie Andrews, Ray Wylie Hubbard, and Cinder Well; an advance single from Brent Cobb’s upcoming October release, ‘Keep ‘Em On They Toes’; a classic from Mississippi John Hurt; favorites from John Fullbright and Patty Griffin, and much more.

In hour two, new music from Sarah Jarosz, Nell & Jim Band, John Craigie, Saro Lynch-Thomason & Sam Gleaves, and Libby Rodenbough; we go back to Nickel Creek’s debut album; favorites from Leyla McCalla, Sam Bush, and The Highwomen; and more.

{The audio for this episode is no longer available.}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Ben Harper – Black Eyed Dog (feat. Rhiannon Giddens) – [single] – ANTI

Jake Blount – Goodbye, Honey, You Call That Gone – Spider Tales – Free Dirt

Amythyst Kiah – Dark Holler – Dig – Amythyst Kiah

Lori McKenna – This Town Is A Woman (feat. Karen Fairchild & Kimberly Schlapman) – The Balladeer – CN Records

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Last of My Kind – The Nashville Sound – Southeastern Records

Cinder Well – No Summer – No Summer – Free Dirt

The Tillers – Long Summer Day – Hand on the Plow – Muddy Roots Music Recordings

Ray Wylie Hubbard – Mississippi John Hurt (feat. Pam Tillis) – Co-Starring- Big Machine Records

Mississippi John Hurt (compilation) – Monday Morning Blues – Classic African American Songsters from Smithsonian Folkways – Smithsonian Folkways

Courtney Marie Andrews – Old Flowers – Old Flowers – Fat Possum/Mama Bird Recording Co.

John Fullbright – Forgotten Flowers – From the Ground Up – Blue Dirt Records

Parsonsfield – Weeds Or Wildflowers – Poor Old Shine – Signature Sounds

Patty Griffin – Ohio – American Kid – New West Records

Brent Cobb – Keep ‘Em On They Toes – Keep ‘Em On They Toes – Ol’ Buddy Records

Hour Two:

Nickel Creek – The Fox – Nickel Creek – Sugar Hill

Nell & Jim Band – Bassfiddle Fanfare – Western Sun – Whippoorwill Arts

Sarah Jarosz – Hometown – World On the Ground – Rounder Records

Leyla McCalla – Oh My Love – The Capitalist Blues – Pias America

De Temps Antan – L’America – Ce Monde Ici-Bas – L-Abe

Sam Bush – I Just Want To Feel Something – Storyman – Sugar Hill

John Craigie – Nomads – Asterisk the Universe – Zabriskie Point Records

Saro Lynch-Thomason & Sam Gleaves – Truck Driving Woman – I Have Known Women: Songs by Si Kahn Celebrating Women’s Lives and Struggles – Strictly Country Records

Sam Gleaves – Ain’t We Brothers – Ain’t We Brothers – Community Music

The Highwomen – Highwomen (feat. Yola) – The Highwomen – Low Country Sound/Elektra Records

Tinariwen – Kel Tinawen (feat. Cass McCombs) – Amadjar – Anti/Epitaph

Andrew Bird – Sisyphus – My Finest Work Yet – Loma Vista

The Small Glories – Oh My Love – Assiniboine and the Red – Red House Records/Compass Music Group

Libby Rodenbough – String Me On the Line – Spectacle of Love – Sleepy Cat Records


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By