Folk Alley Radio Show #200521

This week on Folk Alley, Elena See shares new music from Jackson Browne, John Craigie, Gretchen Peters, and Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit; plus Matt Smith, the managing director at Club Passim in Cambridge, Massachusetts, joins Folk Alley host Cindy Howes for a special guest dj set and conversation about the venue’s annual Campfire Festival moving “online.” We also wish Bob Dylan and Rosanne Cash “happy birthday” and much more!

In hour two, songs for Memorial Day by John Gorka and the Dixie Chicks; new music from Indigo Girls, The Mammals, Jon Stickley Trio, and David Huckfelt; a little blues from Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi; plus favorites from Ben Sollee, Ani DiFranco, Lucinda Williams, Patty Griffin, and much more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues – Original Mono Recordings – Columbia Legacy

Tim O’Brien – Señor (Tales of Yankee Power) – Red On Blonde – Sugar Hill

Joan Osborne – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere – Songs of Bob Dylan – Womanly Hips Records

Rosanne Cash When the Master Calls the Roll The River & The Thread Blue Note Records

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – River – Reunions – Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers

Liv Greene – New York’s Arms – Every Bright Penny – Liv Greene

Moscow Apartment – Halfway – [single] – Hidden Pony Records

Kalliope Jones- Bubblegum <3 – Bubblegum Heart (EP) – Kalliope Jones

Gretchen Peters – Wish I Was – The Night You Wrote That Song: The Songs of Mickey Newbury – Scarlet Letter Records

Billy Cardine – Funk Bro – Yours To Find – Billy Cardine

John Craigie – Don’t Ask – Asterisk the Universe – Zabriskie Point Records (Thirty Tigers)

Jackson Browne – Downhill From Everywhere – [single] – Inside Recordings

Jackson Browne – A Little Soon To Say – [single] – Inside Recordings

Hour Two:

Dixie Chicks – Travelin’ Soldier – Home – Columbia

John Gorka – Let Them In – The Company You Keep – Red House

Indigo Girls – When We Were Writers – Look Long – Rounder

Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi (compilation) – Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning – God Don’t Never Change: The Songs of Blind Willie Johnson – Alligator Records

The Mammals – What It All Is – Nonet – Humble Abode Music

Ani DiFranco – Do Re Me – Swing Set – Righteous Babe

Ben Sollee – Presence – Ben Sollee and Kentucky Native – Soundly Music

The Sparrow Quartet – It Ain’t Easy – Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet – Nettwerk

Sarah Jarosz – I Can’t Love You Now – Song Up In Her Head – Sugar Hill

David Huckfelt – Book of Life – Room Enough, Time Enough – David Huckfelt

Jon Stickley Trio – Ashtabula – Scripting the Flip – Organic Records

Elephant Revival – What Is Time? – Break In The Clouds – Ruff Shod

Lucinda Williams – I Just Want To See You So Bad – Lucinda Williams – Lucinda Williams Music/Thirty Tigers

Patty Griffin – Heavenly Day – Children Running Through – ATO


Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By