Folk Alley Radio Show #190718

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, an exclusive Folk Alley Session with Ireland-born, Austin-based singer/songwriter Pat Byrne, recorded at the 2019 30A Songwriters Festival; hear the latest from Shawn Colvin as she re-releases an acoustic version of her Grammy Award winning album ‘Steady On’; plus new music from Old Salt Union and Che Apalache; favorites by Béla Fleck & the Flecktones, Russ Barenberg; and more.

In hour two, new music from Pieta Brown, Hard Drive, Calexico and Iron & Wine, Spirit Family Reunion, and The Steel Wheels; plus favorites from Mandolin Orange, Mipso, Parsonsfield, and much more.

{Audio is no longer available for this episode.}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Shawn Colvin – Ricochet in Time (acoustic) – Steady On (30th Anniversary Acoustic Version) – SLCRecordings

Lucy Kaplansky – Old Friends (w/ Shawn Colvin) – Everyday Street – Lucy Kaplansky

Colvin & Earle – You Were On My Mind – Colvin & Earle – Fantasy

Béla Fleck & The Flecktones – Sea Brazil – Béla Fleck & The Flecktones – Warner Brothers

Béla Fleck & Abigail Washburn – What’cha Gonna Do – Béla Fleck & Abigail Washburn – Rounder Records

Pat Byrne – Smiling Eyes – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival

Pat Byrne – Toys – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival

Pat Byrne – Hills of Killedmond – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival

Old Salt Union – Where the Dogs Don’t Bite – Where the Dogs Don’t Bite – Compass Records

Russ Barenberg – Jump Back Barley – When At Last – Compass Records

Molly Tuttle – Million Miles – When You’re Ready – Compass Records

Che Apalache – The Wall – Rearrange My Heart – Free Dirt

Che Apalache – The Dreamer – Rearrange My Heart – Free Dirt

Hour Two:

Calexico and Iron & Wine – Father Mountain – Years to Burn – Sub Pop

Black Prairie – Homemade Lemonade – Feast of the Hunters’ Moon – Sugar Hill

Martha Scanlan – Honey Blue – The Shape of Things Gone Missing, the Shape of Things to Come – Up On the Divide Records

Pieta Brown – Ask For More – Freeway – Righteous Babe Records

David Huckfelt – King Whirl – Stranger Angels – David Huckfelt/Tone Tree

Hard Drive – Big Spike Hammer – Random Access Mash – Hard Drive

Della Mae – Bluebird Blackbird – The Butcher Shoppe (EP) – Rounder Records

The Steel Wheels – Something New – Over the Trees – Big Ring Records

Mandolin Orange – Hey Stranger – Blindfaller – Yep Roc Records

Mipso – Train Down the Line – Coming Down The Mountain – Mipso

Spirit Family Reunion – Easy My Mind – Ride Free – Spirit Family Reunion

The Fretless – Star Monster (live) – Live from the Art Farm – The Fretless

Parsonsfield – The Hurry All Around – Poor Old Shine – Signature Sounds

Caroline Spence – Song About A City – Mint Condition – Rounder Records/Concord

Eilen Jewell – Songbird – Sundown Over Ghost Town – Signature Sounds

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By