Folk Alley Radio Show #190620

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, we celebrate the beginning of summer with songs from Mary Jean, Doc Watson, and The Mavericks; new music from Mark Erelli, Joan Shelley, and the Winnipeg power-duo, The Small Glories; plus favorites from Richard Thompson, Joan Baez, Bill Morrissey, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Heather Maloney, Jamestown Revival, and The Steel Wheels; hear tracks by Anais Mitchell featuring ‘Hadestown,’ her multi-Tony Award winning musical; plus favorites by The Honey Dewdrops, Hot Rize, Abigail Washburn, and more.


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

The Mavericks – Summertime (When I’m With You) – Mono – The Valory Music Co

Doc Watson – Summertime – Elementary – Sugar Hill

Mary Jean – Summer Child – Summer Child (EP) – Gateway Music

Mark Erelli – The Hitter – (single) – Hillbilly Pilgrim

Bill Morrissey – My Old Town – North – Rounder

Joan Shelley – Coming Down For You – (single) – No Quarter Records

Richard Thompson – 1952 Vincent Black Lightning – Rumor and Sigh – Capitol

Bob Dylan – Easy and Slow (live) – The Rolling Thunder Review: The 1975 Live Recordings – Columbia/Sony Legacy

Joan Baez – There But for Fortune – Rare, Live and Classic – Vanguard

The Small Glories – Sing – Assiniboine and the Red – Red House

The Duhks – Tonderhoning – Beyond the Blue

Fiddle and Banjo (Karrnnel Sawitsky & Daniel Koulack) – Little Birdie – Tunes From North, Songs From the South – Sawistsky & Koulack

The Lonely Heartstring Band – The Other Side – Smoke and Ashes – Rounder Records

Rachel Baiman – Times Like These – Thanksgiving (EP) – Free Dirt

Hour Two:

Molsky’s Mountain Drifters – There’s a Bright Side Somewhere – Closing the Gap – Tree Fog Music

Hot Rize – High on a Mountain (live) – 40th Anniversary Bash – Ten in Hand Records

The Steel Wheels – Keep On – Over the Trees – Big Ring Records

The Honey Dewdrops – Somerset – Silver Lining

Alice Howe – What We Get is Gold – Visions – Know Howe Music

Anais Mitchell – Why We Build the Wall – xoa – Wilderland Records

Anais Mitchell, Ani DiFranco – I Raise My Cup to Him – Hadestown (A Folk Opera by Anais Mitchell) – Righteous Babe

Tim Easton – Carry Me (Acoustic Demo) – (single) – New West

Emmylou Harris & the Nash Ramblers – Lodi – At The Ryman – Reprise

Buddy & Julie Miller – Secret – Breakdown on 20th Ave. South – New West Records

Jamestown Revival – This Too Shall Pass – San Isabel – Jamestown Revival

Abigail Washburn – Divine Bell – City of Refuge – Foreign Children Records

Heather Maloney – We Were Together (feat. Taylor Goldsmith) – Soil in the Sky – Signature Records

Dawes – A Little Bit of Everything – Nothing is Wrong – ATO

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By