Folk Alley Radio Show #190530

This week on Folk Alley, an exclusive Session from the 2019 30A Songwriters Festival featuring Courtney Marie Andrews; we’ll hear the latest from Ellis Paul’s new recording, ‘The Storyteller’s Suitcase’; and more new music from Rodrigo y Gabriela, Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters, and Ordinary Elephant; plus favorites from Amos Lee, Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys, Sam Bush and more.

In hour two, new music from Greg Felden, Rhiannon Giddens w/ Francesco Turrisi, and Mavis Staples; we’ll go all-in with tracks from Olav Mjelva & Eli West, The Devil Makes Three, and Lightnin’ Hopkins; also a new song from Josh Ritter and his new work, ‘Fever Breaks’; plus favorites from Eva Cassidy, Jackson Browne, David Francey, Paul Simon, and more.


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Laura Veirs – Sun Song – Warp and Weft – Raven Marching Band

Rodrigo y Gabriela – Cumbé – Mettavolution – ATO

Amos Lee – Windows Are Rolled Down – Mission Bell – Blue Note

Ordinary Elephant – I Come From – Honest – Berkalin Records

Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys – Old Song – Ionia – Lindsay Lou Music

Courtney Marie Andrews – How Quickly Your Heart Mends – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive

Courtney Marie Andrews – Near You – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive

Courtney Marie Andrews – Rough Around the Edges – Folk Alley Exclusive – Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive

Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters – To Love Somebody – Live at the Grey Eagle – Organic Records

Etta Baker – One Dime Blues – One Dime Blues – Rounder

Sam Bush – Howlin’ at the Moon – Howlin’ at the Moon – Sugar Hill

Ellis Paul – Slingshot – The Storytellers Suitcase – Rosella Records

Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer – Seven Is The Number – Seven Is The Number – TGM

Hour Two:

Mavis Staples – Sometimes – We Get By – Anti/Epitaph

Bridget Kearney & Benjamin Lazar Davis – Firu – Bawa – Signature Sounds

Eva Cassidy – Who Knows Where The Time Goes – Imagine – Blix St.

Greg Felden – Every Time – Made of Strings – Greg Felden

Jackson Browne – Leaving Winslow – Standing In The Breach – Inside Recordings

Olav Mjelva & Eli West – Hand To Play – Hand To Play – Olav Mjelva & Eli West

The Devil Makes Three – Aces and Twos – Do Wrong Right – Milan Records

Lightnin’ Hopkins (compilation) – Onve A Gambler – Crazy Heart (Motion Picture Soundtrack) – New West

Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert – Stable – When The Sun Goes Down – Dead Reckoning Records

David Francey – Sunday Morning – The Waking Hour – Redhouse

Rhiannon Giddens w/ Francesco Turrisi – Gonna Write Me A Letter – There Is No Other – Nonesuch

Paul Simon – Rewrite – So Beautiful or So What – Hear Music

Caitlin Canty – Take Me For a Ride – Motel Bouquet – Tone Tree Music

Josh Ritter – Blazing Highway Home – Fever Breaks – Pytheas Recordings

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By