Folk Alley Radio Show #190516

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, it’s an hour of new music with tracks from the great Mavis Staples, Buddy & Julie Miller, Joy Williams, and the Tallest Man on Earth; we’ll hear a new single from Ellis Paul’s upcoming release, ‘The Storyteller’s Suitcase’; plus favorites from Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite, Lula Wiles, Greg Brown, The Brother Brothers, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Josh Ritter, Rhiannon Giddens w/ Francesco Turrisi, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Caroline Spence and Anna Tivel; we’ll have an exclusive recording from the Green River Festival featuring Lake Street Dive; plus favorites from Darlingside, Jimmy LaFave, Iron & Wine, Hurray for the Riff Raff, and more.


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Mavis Staples – Anytime – We Get By – Anti/Epitaph

Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite – Trust You To Dig My Grave – No Mercy In This Land – Anti

Joy Williams – Front Porch – Front Porch – Sensibility Recordings

Mariel Vandersteel – Sitting On The Ridge – Hickory – Self

Amy Ray – Sparrow’s Boogie – Holler – Daemon Records/Compass

The Tallest Man On Earth – My Dear – I Love You, It’s a Fever Dream – Rivers/Birds Records

Lula Wiles –Love Gone Wrong – What Will We Do – Smithsonian Folkways

Ellis Paul – Kiss Me ‘Cause I’m Gone – The Storyteller’s Suitcase – Rosella Records

Kristin Andreassen – Kiss Me Hello – Kiss Me Hello – self

Greg Brown – One More Goodnight Kiss – One More Goodnight Kiss – Red House

Buddy & Julie Miller – I’m Gonna Make You Love Me – Breakdown on 20th Ave. South – New West Records

Buddy Miller – Freight Train – The Majestic Silver Strings – New West

Patty Griffin – Hourglass – Patty Griffin – PGM/Thirty Tigers

Amy Helm – Spend Our Last Dime – Didn’t It Rain – Entertainment One Music

The Brothers Brother – Red and Gold – Some People I Know – Compass Records

Hour Two:

Josh Ritter – On the Water – Fever Breaks – Pytheas Recordings

Lake Street Dive – Better Than – recorded at the 2012 Green River Festival – Folk Alley Exclusive

Darlingside – Bird Say – Birds Say – Thirty Tigers

Jimmy LaFave – Peace Town – Peace Town – Music Road Records

Gretchen Peters – When You Comin’ Home (feat. Jimmy LaFave) – Blackbirds – Scarlett Letter Records

Mark Erelli – Wayside – For A Song – Hillbilly Pilgrim Music

Ana Egge – Bright Shadow – Bright Shadow – Grace/Parkinsong

Anna Tivel – The Question – The Question – Fluff & Gravy Records

Iron & Wine – Call It Dreaming – Beast Epic – Sub Pop Records

Courtney Hartman & Taylor Ashton – Wayside – Been On Your Side – Free Dirt Records

Caroline Spence – Angels or Los Angeles – Mint Condition – Rounder Records/Concord

Rodrigo y Gabriela – Electric Soul – Mettavolution – ATO

Dave Rawlings Machine – I Hear Them All – A Friend of a Friend – Acony (2009)

Rhiannon Giddens w/ Francesco Turrisi – Little Margaret – There Is No Other – Nonesuch

Hurray for the Riff Raff – Cuckoo – My Dearest Darkest Neighbor – Born To Win Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from Folk Alley via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By