Folk Alley Radio Show #190418

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one, an exclusive in-studio session with guitarist extraordinaire and songwriter, Molly Tuttle; new music from Luther Dickinson & Sisters of the Strawberry Moon and Steve Earle & The Dukes; plus favorites from Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss & Union Station, The Wood Brothers, Steep Canyon Rangers, Kim Richey, and many more.

In hour two, new music from Our Native Daughters, Evie Ladin Band; we’ll hear one from the Molsky’s Mountain Drifters’ new work, ‘Closing the Gap’; plus favorites from Lori McKenna, Ali Farka Toure w/ Ry Cooder, Donna the Buffalo, The Brother Brothers, Trampled by Turtles, John Prine, and more.

{{Audio for the episode is no longer available.}}


Hour One:

Willie Nelson (feat. Alison Krauss) – No Mas Amor – To All the Girls… – Sony Legacy

Willie Nelson – She Made My Day – Last Man Standing – Sony/Legacy

Alison Krauss & Union Station – Lie Awake – Paper Airplane – Rounder

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon – Kathy (feat. Birds of Chicago) – Solstice – New West Records

The Wood Brothers – Heartbreak Lullaby – Paradise – Honey Jar Records/Thirty

Molly Tuttle – Light Came In (Power Went Out) – Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive

Molly Tuttle – Messed With My Mind- Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive

Molly Tuttle – Take the Journey- Folk Alley Sessions – Folk Alley Exclusive

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Sis Draper – Guy – New West

Steep Canyon Rangers – Out In the Open – Out In the Open – Ramseur Records

Kim Richey – Chase Wild Horses – Edgeland – Yep Roc Records

Amanda Shires – Slippin’ – My Piece of Land – Silver Knife Records

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – If We Were Vampires – The Nashville Sound – Southeastern Records

Hour Two:

Lori McKenna – Young and Angry Again – The Tree – CN Records/Thirty Tigers

Tall County – Hutch – Featherweight

Molsky’s Mountain Drifters – I Get My Whiskey From Rockingham – Closing the Gap – Tree Fog Music

Ry Cooder – Gentrification – The Prodigal Son – Fantasy Records/Concord

Ali Farka Toure w/ Ry Cooder – Bonde – Talking Timbuktu – World Circuit

Our Native Daughters (Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, and Allison Russell) – Slave Driver – Songs of Our Native Daughters – Smithsonian Folkways

Bob Marley – Redemption Song – The Best Of Bob Marley And The Wailers – Island

Evie Ladin Band – Mockingbird – Caught On A Wire Evil – Diane Music

Donna the Buffalo – Working On That – Tonight, Tomorrow and Yesterday – Sugar Hill

The Brother Brothers – Banjo Song – Some People I Know – Compass Records

Steve Martin – Clawhammer Medley – The Crow – Self

Trampled By Turtles – Annihilate – Life Is Good On the Open Road – BanjoDad Records (Thirty

John Craigie – All the Salt – No Rain, No Rose – Zabriskie Point Records

John Prine – The Sins of Memphisto – Great Days: The John Prine Anthology – Rhino Records

Folk Alley’s weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via PRX.org or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

Supported By